Athletics Communications

Philosophy: The Athletics Communications office within Fighting Irish Media serves as the intermediary between the University of Notre Dame’s 26 varsity athletic programs and the local and national media. In doing so, our office strives to enhance the publicity of and showcase accomplishments of all Notre Dame student-athletes on the field, in the classroom and within the surrounding community.

Goal: To provide the best possible media coverage of Notre Dame Athletics – including the department’s student-athletes, coaching staffs and administration – by facilitating the requests launched by various print, television, radio and electronic media members. the Athletics Communications office also provides an expanding range of services to meet the ever-growing needs of the media covering Irish athletics and the fans of Fighting Irish athletics. These initiatives center around timely results, reporting and assisting other information-seeking organizations and individuals. Additionally, the department serves as the chief public division of Notre Dame Athletics, upholding image as a top priority in its dealings with media, fans and other individuals wishing to learn more about Notre Dame Athletics and its members.

Josh Bates
Associate Athletics Communications Director
Email
Michael Bertsch
Director of Football Media Relations
Email
Director of Athletics Communications
Email
Carol Copley
Senior Administrative Assistant
Email
Pat Durant
Assistant Athletics Communications Director
Email
Robby Hamman
Assistant Athletics Communications Director
Email
Sarah Higgins
Associate Athletics Communications Director
Email
Aaron Horvath
Assistant Athletics Director, Strategic Communications
Email
Tony Jones
Assistant Athletics Communications Director
Email
Joanne Norell
Senior Editor, Athletics Communications
Email
Matt Paras
Assistant Athletics Communications Director
Email
Michael Scholl
Associate Athletics Communications Director
Email
Alan Wasielewski
Associate Athletics Communications Director
Email
NameTitleResponsibilitiesPhone
(574)
Email
Aaron HorvathAssistant Athletics Director, Strategic CommunicationsOversight Of Media Relations, Team Communications, Platform Management/Distribution, Social Media631-8978AaronHorvath@nd.edu
Dan ColleranDirector of Athletics CommunicationsHockey, Women's Golf631-7519daniel.p.colleran.2@nd.edu
Michael BertschDirector of Football Media RelationsFootball631-8642 bertsch.3@nd.edu
Alan WasielewskiAssociate Athletics Communications DirectorMen's Basketball, Rowing631-8458awasiele@nd.edu
Josh BatesAssociate Athletics Communications DirectorWomen's Basketball, Men's Golf631-6453jbates2@nd.edu
Sarah HigginsAssociate Athletics Communications DirectorSocial Media, Women's Basketball (secondary)485-9874shiggin2@nd.edu
Michael Scholl Associate Athletics Communications Director Women's Tennis, Football (secondary)631-1762 mscholl@nd.edu
Joanne NorellSenior Editor, Athletics Communications Football Gameday Magazine, Fencing 631-3397jnorell@nd.edu
Tony JonesAssistant Athletics Communications Director Football Notes/Stats631-4780ajones25@nd.edu
Robby HammanAssistant Athletics Communications DirectorMen's Soccer, Men's Lacrosse, Men's Basketball (secondary)631-8032 rhamman@nd.edu
Matt ParasAssistant Athletics Communications DirectorWomen's Soccer, Baseball, Credentialing631-9471mparas1@nd.edu
Pat DurantAssistant Athletics Communications DirectorVolleyball, Women's Lacrosse pdurant@nd.edu
Katherine HarvathAthletics Communications AssistantCross Country/Track & Field, Swim & Dive, Men's Tenniskharvath@nd.edu
Carol CopleySenior Staff AssistantArchival File Oversight, Media Mailing List Coordinator631-7517ccopley1@nd.edu