Will Yeatman notched 21 goals and 25 assists during his freshman season.

Yeatman Wins LaxPower Rookie Of The Year Fan Award

June 13, 2007

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Will Yeatman (San Diego, Calif./Rancho Bernardo), a freshman attackman on the Notre Dame men’s lacrosse team, was recently named the LaxPower National Rookie of the Year during the first LaxPower Fan Awards ceremony. Fans of the web site voted on the award. Yeatman led the Fighting Irish in points with 46 and assists with 25 during the 2006 campaign.

LaxPower nominated three Division I seniors at each of five positions to receive Senior Spotlight position awards as well as three freshmen for Division I Rookie of the Year and three coaches for Division I Coach of the Year. Voting took place during the run-up to the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore.

Yeatman has racked up several accolades for his fine freshman season. He copped honorable mention All-America honors from the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) along with being named the Great Western Lacrosse League (GWLL) Newcomer of the Year in addition to copping first-team all-GWLL honors. He tallied 21 goals to help the Irish boast the nation’s fourth-best scoring offense by averaging 11.67 goals-per game.

The Irish rookie, who also plays tight end on the Notre Dame football team, started all 15 games on the lacrosse field and notched at least one point in every contest as Notre Dame posted an 11-4 record en route to winning the GWLL title. Notre Dame fell to eventual national champion Johns Hopkins, 11-10, in overtime during the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

The other LaxPower Award winners were Duke’s Matt Danowski (Best Senior Attackman), Navy’s Bill Looney (Best Senior Midfielder), Cornell’s Mitch Belisle (Best Senior Defense) and Matt McMonagle (Best Senior Goalie), Delaware’s Alex Smith (Best Senior Face-Off), while Duke’s John Danowski was awarded the Coach of the Year. Notre Dame’s Brian Hubschmann (Short Hills, N.J./Delbarton) was nominated for the Best Senior Midfielder Award.

Stay up-to-date on the Notre Dame men’s lacrosse team by logging onto und.com.