Tew Web

Aldave & Buchanan Named To Tewaaraton Watch List

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Sophomore midfielder Andie Aldave and junior midfielder Savannah Buchanan were both named to the initial watch list for the 2019 Tewaaraton Award, the foundation announced in New York Thursday night (Feb. 28).

The Irish have had a least one player named to the watch list every year during head coach Christine Halfpenny’s tenure in South Bend. The annual watch list includes the top 50 men’s and women’s collegiate lacrosse players in the country.

The Tewaaraton Award is given annually to the best NCAA men’s and women’s lacrosse players of the season. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Aldave leads the Irish with 41 draw controls in five games, and has also recorded 19 points (12G, 7A) for Notre Dame offensively. On February 22, Aldave broke her own single-game program record with 16 draw controls in a 19-10 win at Ohio State.

As a freshman in 2018, Aldave earned Inside Lacrosse All-Rookie Team, Second Team IWLCA All-Region and ACC All-Tournament Team accolades after setting the school record for draw controls in a single season with 98. She also scored 31 goals and dished out 14 assists in her first season with the Irish.

Buchanan, a 2019 Preseason All-ACC honoree, has racked up 26 draw controls, nine points (1G, 8A) and six caused turnovers in five contests this season for the Irish.

A 2018 IWLCA All West/Midwest Region First Team & Second Team All-ACC All-Star, Buchanan led the Irish with 27 assists while also collecting 67 draw controls and 27 goals last season. ¬†Buchanan’s efforts in 2018 also earned her 2018 ACC All-Tournament Team and 2018 ILWomen Midseason Honorable Mention All-American accolades.

Players not named to the initial watch lists have the opportunity to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 21 and April 11. On April 25, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 9 and invited to the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which will be held in Washington, D.C., on May 30.

Notre Dame opens ACC play on Saturday (March 2) at home vs. Louisville at 2 p.m. That contest will be streamed live on ACC Network Extra and admission is free for all inside Loftus Sports Center.