Young Moves on in Cheryl Miller Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced the 10 candidates for the 2019 Cheryl Miller Award on Wednesday, ahead of Notre Dame’s 7 p.m. ET contest at Boston College. Junior Jackie Young was recognized on the list as one of the premiere small forwards in the country.
A national committee comprising of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at
The winner of the 2019 Cheryl Miller Award will be revealed in partnership with the WBCA at the Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Florida. Last season, Connecticut’s Gabby Williams was named the inaugural winner of the Cheryl Miller Award.
This season, Young is arguably Notre Dame’s most dynamic player, averaging 14.4 points, 6.5 rebounds and 4.7 assists. Young is shooting an efficient 55.0 percent from the field, which ranks 30th in the nation, and more impressively, just third among guards.
On Jan. 24 at Tennessee, Young notched the seventh triple-double in Irish history, tallying 16 points, 12 rebounds and 10 assists. Earlier on Jan. 3, Young cemented her name in another spot in the record book, becoming the 40th member in Notre Dame’s 1,000-point scoring club.
2019 Cheryl Miller Award Candidates

Bridget Carleton Iowa St.
Rhyne Howard Kentucky
Erika Davenport Marquette
Kaila Charles Maryland
Sophie Cunningham Missouri
Lexi Klabo North Dakota
Jackie Young Notre Dame
Satou Sabally Oregon
Rennia Davis Tennessee
Borislava Hristova Washington St.

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*
— ND —