Turner Advances in Lisa Leslie Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Make it four-out-of-five for Notre Dame starters advancing in the Naismith Starting Five positional awards. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced the 10 candidates for the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award on Friday, as Brianna Turner was recognized as one of the nation’s top centers.  
This season, Turner is averaging 13.1 points and 7.4 rebounds, while shooting 60.4 percent from the field, as the latter ranks among the top 20 in the nation. Turner also boasts six double-doubles on the year.
Defensively, Turner continues to be one of the best in the country, recently being named to the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year Award Midseason Watch List. Turner averages 2.7 blocks per game which leads the ACC and ranks top 10 in the nation.
Turner has collected a season high five blocks on four separate occasions this season and has earned 35 blocks over the last nine games. Turner is up to 334 blocks in her career, chasing Irish great Ruth Riley’s all-time mark of 370.
In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Leslie and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at www.hoophallawards.com.
The winner of the 2019 Lisa Leslie Center Award will be revealed in partnership with the WBCA during the 2019 Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Florida. Last season, A’ja Wilson of South Carolina was named the inaugural
2019 Lisa Leslie Award Candidates

Kalani Brown Baylor
Kristine Anigwe California
Channon Fluker CSUN
Megan Gustafson Iowa
Beatrice Mompremier Miami
Hallie Thome Michigan
Teaira McCowan Mississippi St
Janelle Bailey North Carolina
Brianna Turner Notre Dame
Jordan Moore TCU

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*
           — ND —