McGraw a Naismith Coach of the Year Late Season Candidate

ATLANTA – The Atlanta Tipoff Club shared its late season candidates for the 2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year on Wednesday. Karen and Kevin Keyes Notre Dame head coach Muffet McGraw was named one of the 15 candidates.
Last season, Coach McGraw was a Naismith Coach of the Year semifinalist, but picked up national coach of the year honors from USA Today, espnW and the Associated Press. The rest was history after that, as she guided the Irish to their second national title, becoming the sixth different coach with multiple championships.
On Dec. 30, Coach McGraw became the fourth fastest Division I head coach to reach 900 wins. Then shortly after that, McGraw surpassed Jim Foster on the all-time win list for seventh place, now sitting with 914 in her illustrious career.
This season, Coach McGraw has guided the No. 4 Irish to a 26-3 overall record on the nation’s No. 1 strength of schedule, achieving the No. 1 rated RPI. Notre Dame has earned eight wins over AP Top 25 ranked teams, including three against the Top 10, both of which leads the country.
In the nation’s No. 1 rated RPI conference, the ACC, the Irish have compiled a 13-2 record, and are one win away from at least a co-share of the regular season title. Thus, a win on Sunday would give Notre Dame its sixth straight ACC championship.
2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year Late Season Candidates

Muffet McGraw Notre Dame
Geno Auriemma UConn
Lisa Bluder Iowa
Amanda Butler Clemson
Lisas Fortier Gonzaga
Kelly Graves Oregon
Carolyn Kieger Marquette
Katie Meier Miami
Wes Moore NC State
Kim Mulkey Baylor
Lynne Roberts Utah
Scott Rueck Oregon St
Vic Schaefer Mississippi St
Tara Vanderveer Stanford
Jeff Walz Louisville

 — ND —