All Five Starters Named WBCA All-America Region Finalists

ATLANTA – The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced all five Notre Dame starters as All-America Region Finalists on Thursday. Arike Ogunbowale, Jackie Young, Marina Mabrey, Jessica Shepard and Brianna Turner comprised five of the 13 spots in Region One. In addition, the Fighting Irish boast the most selections than other school with Oregon and UConn coming in next with three.
On Thursday, April, 4, the selection committee will narrow down the 52-candidate pool to the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team. A special press conference will be held during the WBCA Convention at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Florida.
Ogunbowale will look to be named a two-time WBCA All-American, after making the 10-member team last season. This year, the senior guard has already picked up one All-America accolade, given out by espnW. In addition, Shepard and Mabrey have now made the WBCA All-America Region One finalist list for the second straight year.
The Irish starting five average a combined 80.6 points per game, accounting for over 90 percent of the country’s No. 1 ranked scoring offense. No other team in the country can claim all five starters averaging over 13.5 ppg.
In addition, the starters are officially the most prolific scoring fivesome in NCAA Division I women’s basketball history, entering the weekend with a combined 9,751 career points. The previous best was 8,492 points from the 2017-18 Ohio State squad.

Name School
Bella Alarie Princeton University
Asia Durr University of Louisville
Kiah Gillespie Florida State University
Emese Hof University of Miami
Paris Kea University of North Carolina
Kiara Leslie North Carolina State University
Marina Mabrey University of Notre Dame
Tiana Mangakahia Syracuse University
Beatrice Mompremier University of Miami
Arike Ogunbowale University of Notre Dame
Jessica Shepard University of Notre Dame
Brianna Turner University of Notre Dame
Jackie Young University of Notre Dame


Name School
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M University
Sophie Cunningham University of Missouri
Rennia Davis University of Tennessee
Reyna Frost Central Michigan University
Tyasha Harris University of South Carolina
Anriel Howard Mississippi State University
Rhyne Howard University of Kentucky
Presley Hudson Central Michigan University
Darby Maggard Belmont University
Teaira McCowan Mississippi State University
Maci Morris University of Kentucky
Caliya Robinson University of Georgia


Name School
Kalani Brown Baylor University
Bridget Carleton Iowa State University
Napheesa Collier University of Connecticut
Lauren Cox Baylor University
Crystal Dangerfield University of Connecticut
Vivian Gray Oklahoma State University
Tynice Martin West Virginia University
Katie Lou Samuelson University of Connecticut


Name School
Kenisha Bell University of Minnesota
Allazia Blockton Marquette University
Kaila Charles University of Maryland
Mart’e Grays DePaul University
Megan Gustafson University of Iowa
Natisha Hiedeman Marquette University
Becca Hittner Drake University
Teniya Page Penn State University
Hallie Thome University of Michigan


Name School
Kristine Anigwe University of California – Berkeley
Ruthy Hebard University of Oregon
Megan Huff University of Utah
Sabrina Ionescu University of Oregon
Aari McDonald University of Arizona
Michaela Onyenwere University of California – Los Angeles
Mikayla Pivec Oregon State University
Satou Sabally University of Oregon
Destiny Slocum Oregon State University
Alanna Smith Stanford University

— ND —