All Five Starters Land on Naismith Trophy Midseason Watch List

ATLANTA – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the 30 women’s basketball players included on the midseason watch list for the 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Women’s Player of the Year award on Monday. A record five Notre Dame players made the list with Marina Mabrey, Arike Ogunbowale, Jessica Shepard, Brianna Turner and Jackie Young.
Notre Dame looks to claim its first Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year since Ruth Riley in 2001. One Irish in particular, junior guard Jackie Young, has a little history with the Naismith Trophy – winning the high school version of the award in 2016.
On March 4, the competition will narrow as the midseason team of 30 becomes 10 national semifinalists. The four finalists will be announced on March 22, and the 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year will be announced on April 6.
All five starters average over 12.5 points per game, accounting for 90 percent of the team’s scoring, for an offense that ranks third in the country. The Irish have posted a 22-3 overall record against the nation’s No. 1 strength of schedule, earning the No. 1 ranked RPI.
The Irish also rank in the top 10 nationally in assists, blocks, field goal percentage, free throw attempts and makes, total rebounds and scoring margin.
All five are certainly leaving their mark as well. Ogunobwale is on pace to break the all-time scoring record. Mabrey is on pace for most career three-pointers. Turner is challenging for the all-time blocks record. In addition, Shepard has already achieved over 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds for her career.
2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Women’s Midseason Team

Kristine Anigwe Sr. C/F California Pac-12
Kalani Brown Sr. C Baylor Big 12
Bridget Carleton Sr. G Iowa State Big 12
Chennedy Carter So. G Texas A&M SEC
Kaila Charles Jr. G Maryland Big Ten
Napheesa Collier Sr. F UConn AAC
Lauren Cox Jr. F Baylor Big 12
Sophie Cunningham Sr. G Missouri SEC
Crystal Dangerfield Jr. G UConn AAC
Asia Durr Sr. G Louisville ACC
Megan Gustafson Sr. F Iowa Big Ten
Ruthy Hebard Jr. F Oregon Pac-12
Natisha Hiedeman Sr. G Marquette BIG EAST
Anriel Howard Sr. F Mississippi State SEC
Megan Huff Sr. F Utah Pac-12
Sabrina Ionescu Jr. G Oregon Pac-12
Marina Mabrey Sr. G Notre Dame ACC
Tiana Mangakahia Jr. G Syracuse ACC
Tynice Martin Jr. G West Virginia Big 12
Teaira McCowan Sr. C Mississippi State SEC
Beatrice Mompremier Jr. F Miami ACC
Maci Morris Sr. G Kentucky SEC
Arike Ogunbowale Sr. G Notre Dame ACC
Satou Sabally So. F Oregon Pac-12
Katie Lou Samuelson Sr. G UConn AAC
Jessica Shepard Sr. F Notre Dame ACC
Destiny Slocum So. G Oregon State Pac-12
Alanna Smith Sr. F Stanford Pac-12
Brianna Turner Sr. F Notre Dame ACC
Jackie Young Jr. G Notre Dame ACC

— ND —