Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Women's Swimming and Diving Ties Purdue 150-150 In Dual-Meet Action

Oct. 30, 2002

Complete Results

Notre Dame, Ind. – The Notre Dame women’s swimming and diving team, ranked 14th in the nation, won seven events in tying Purdue 150-150 in dual-meet action at the Rolfs Aquatic Center on Wednesday evening. Notre Dame is now 1-0-1 on the season, while Purdue is 0-0-1.

The meet was neck and neck with the Irish putting the pressure on Purdue with a 1-2-3 finish in the 400 individual medley. Notre Dame junior Marie Labosky was first in the 400 IM, followed by junior Lisa Garcia in 4:24.34 and sophomore Brooke Taylor in 4:27.76.

The Boilers battled back in the next event taking first, second and fourth in the three-meter diving event. The door was opened for Purdue when Notre Dame diver Meghan Perry-Eaton, who had won the one-meter event earlier, registered a no dive and zero points in that round. Purdue’s Carrie McCambridge took advantage of the opportunity, placing first with 311.92 points. Purdue’s Heather Bachman was second with 297.67 points, while Notre Dame’s Chrissy Habeeb was third in 296.40 and Purdue’s Carrie Dougherty fourth in 272.02. Perry-Eaton made it interesting however rebounding from the failed dive and recording 271.05 points on only five dives, while everyone else counted six.

Entering the 400 freestyle relay, the night’s final event, Notre Dame was leading 146-137. Purdue, though, took first and third in the relay earning 13 points to Notre Dame’s four and a tie.

In addition to her second-place finish in the 400 individual medley, Garcia won both the 100 and 200 butterfly. Garcia’s winning times were 56.31 and 2:02.80, respectively. Other winners for the Irish this evening included sophomore Kelli Barton in the 1,000 free (10:07.83), junior Danielle Hulick in the 50 freestyle (23.99), Perry-Eaton in one-meter diving (305.85 points) and junior Laurie Musgrave in the 200 breaststroke (2:20.04).

Notre Dame is in action again on Friday against Indiana at 4:00 p.m. at the Rolfs Aquatic Center. Admission is free.