Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Women's Soccer Beats Duke In Keybank Classic

Sept. 5, 1999

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The seventh-ranked Notre Dame women’s soccer team used a strong first-half attack up the middle and scored three goals in the first 23:22 a 4-1 win over Duke in the final game of the KeyBank Soccer Classic. Four different players scored and junior Meotis Erikson had three assists for the Irish, who improve to 1-1-0 in picking up the first win under first-year head coach Randy Waldrum. Notre Dame returns to the field in its road at St. John’s on Sun., Sept. 12.

Top-ranked North Carolina beat fourth-ranked Connecticut 3-1 in Sunday’s first game thanks to a pair of goals by freshman Kim Patrick after Connecticut led 1-0. Patrick was named the KeyBank Soccer Classic offensive MYP, while North Carolina’s Lindsay Stoecker was the defensive MVP.

Junior Anne Makinen gave the Irish a 1-0 lead at 9:05 when senior Jenny Heft’s pass split the Duke back line. Makinen then dribbled past Duke goalkeeper Isis Dallis, who came off her line, and scored into the open net from 15 yards. Senior Jenny Streiffer netted the game-winning goal at 19:13 when she took a thru-ball from Erikson and scored from 15 yards on the left wing.

Senior Jenny Heft then put the Irish ahead 30 on another thru-ball from Erikson at 23:22. Erikson slipped another pass through the Duke back line to Kelly Tulisiak, who scored less than four minutes after entering the game with a lofted shot from 15 yards over an extended Dallis for a 4-0 lead at 38:43.

Duke’s Alexis Highsmith intercepted a back pass to Irish goalkeeper LaKeysia Beene and scored into an open net at 42:02 to round out the scoring. Notre Dame outshot Duke 18-6, including 12-2 in the first half. Both teams used a number of substitutions in a deliberate second half with temperatures in the mid 90s. Eleven substitutes, including backup goalkeepers Sani Post and Elizabeth Wagner, entered for the Irish, who beat Duke for the fourth straight time.

1999 KeyBank Soccer Classic Awards
All-Tournament Team
Offensive MVP:
Kim Patrick, North Carolina
Defensive MVP: Lindsay Stoecker, North Carolina
LaKeysia Beene, Notre Dame
Kara Brown, Notre Dame
Lorrie Fair, North Carolina
Meredith Florance, North Carolina
Jen Grubb, Notre Dame
Sherrill Kester, Duke
Anne Makinen, Notre Dame
Rebekah McDowell, North Carolina
Mary-Frances Monroe, Connecticut
Kim Patrick, North Carolina
Jenny Streiffer, Notre Dame