May 5, 1998

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Junior Kerry Callahan (Churchville, Pa.) and freshmen Courtney Calabrese (Darien, Conn.), Maura Doyle (Cockeysville, Md.), Carrie Marshall (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Lael O’Shaughnessy (Alexandria, Va.) have been named to the United States Women’s Lacrosse Association National Tournament later this month at the McDonough School in Baltimore, Md. All five were selected to the Midwest region first team. Another Irish player, freshman Kathryn Perrella (Valley Cottage, N.Y.), was named to the Midwest region second team.

Callahan was the team’s leading scorer this season with 30 goals and 20 assists (50 points) and was selected as the Notre Dame National Monogram Club MVP for the women’s lacrosse team. She had either a goal or an assist in all 13 games in 1998 as an Irish tri-captain. Callahan, who started 12 of 13 games, scored a season-high five goals against Stanford and dished off four assists versus Duquesne.

Calabrese was Notre Dame’s leading goal scorer as she registered 38 goals. She played in all 13 contests and made 12 starts, while tying for second in scoring with 41 points. In addition, Calabrese set two school records against Gannon in a 20-10 win — goals in a game (seven) and points (eight).

Doyle, another first-year player who saw action in all 13 contests and made 12 starts, finished the 1998 campaign with 16 goals and five assists. O’Shaughnessy started all 12 games she played and, along with Calabrese, was second in the Irish scoring column with 27 goals and 14 assists.

Marshall, a 13-game starter in goal for the Irish, registered a .485 save percentage and a 12.88 goals against average. She was one of two freshmen to start all 13 games in 1998.

Perrella started 10 of the 13 games she played and finished as the team’s fourth-leading scorer with 13 goals and nine assists (22 points).

Notre Dame finished its second season of varsity competition with a 7-6 record.