Brian Walsh '77 was an all-Joyce Center first team selection.  He was the top vote-getter in the fan voting to select the top players in the history of the Joyce Center.

Voting Underway For Hockey's All-Joyce Center Team At

Jan. 24, 2011

Notre Dame, Ind. – In conjunction with the final full season of hockey at the Joyce Center, Notre Dame will select an All-Joyce Center Team to recognize the many great players who have patrolled Irish ice during the 43-year history of the building (1968-2011).

Last week, with the help of several former coaches, assistant coaches and administrators who have been involved with the Notre Dame hockey program during that time period, all-decade teams were selected to cover four time periods from 1968-80, from 1980-89, from 1990-99 and the 2000-2011 seasons.

Now it is the fans turn to select the All-Joyce Center Team by going to the Notre Dame website at to vote for the top players in the program’s history.

Voting is easy and simple to do. Go to the main page of the Notre Dame website ( and at the center of the front page is a block that says Notre Dame Hockey All-Joyce Center Team – VOTE. Click on that block and it will take the voter to the page that includes the ballot for selecting the team and thumbnail bios of all the players selected to the four All-Decade Teams.

Scroll down through the bios of the players to the ballot -All-Joyce Center Team Ballot. There the voter just needs to click on the players they would like to select. VOTERS MUST VOTE for THREE goaltenders, SIX defensemen and NINE forwards with the votes then being used to select the top 18 players of the Joyce Center era of Irish hockey. At the bottom of the ballot, the voter must type in his email address and a group of characters to verify the vote. From there, click on Submit and the vote will be recorded. ONE VOTE PER DAY PER PERSON.


Greg Meredith ’80 was selected All-American in 1980. He is Notre Dame’s all-time leader in goals with 104 in his career.



The voting will continue until Sunday, Feb. 20th at 5:00 p.m. EST. The All-Joyce Center Team (second and third teams) will then be announced during the week prior to Saturday, February 26 – when the Irish face Western Michigan in the regular-season finale. At the final game, the first team as selected by the fans will be announced and all team members in attendance at the game will be honored that night.

Join the fun and select your all-time favorite Notre Dame hockey players now for the All-Joyce Center Team in this the final full season for the home of the Irish hockey program.