Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Twenty Irish Named CSCAA All-Americans

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Twenty Notre Dame student-athletes have been selected as College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) All-Americans for the 2019-20 season, the group announced Wednesday. With 10 selections each for the men and the women, the Irish boast seven divers and 13 swimmers to earn the title.

Leading into the NCAA Championships, Notre Dame was responsible for 13 national Top-25 times, including nine times in the Top 20 for the men with four in the Top 10. 

“I am extremely proud of our swimmers and divers who have been recognized as All-Americans during this unprecedented time,” Irish head coach Mike Litzinger said. “While our championship season was cut short, Notre Dame continues to make its presence a standard fixture among the NCAA elite.”

According to the CSCAA, alternative selection criteria were used to determine the All-American honor, given that the championship season was unable to be completed. For Division I considerations, relays achieving the NCAA A-cut standard, student-athletes selected to the 2020 NCAA Championships and divers in uncontested events from the Zone C Diving Championship (cut short due to COVID-19) are considered All-Americans. 

Selections to the men’s team included Josh Bottelberghe, Austin Flaute, Jack Hoagland, Sadler McKeen, Jack Montesi, David Petrison, Aaron Schultz, Zach Smith, Cason Wilburn and Zach Yeadon. 

Yeadon, a two-time 2020 ACC Champion, qualified for the NCAA Championships with the second-fastest 1650 Free swim (14:27.93) and third-fastest 500 Free (4:10.39) in the nation. 

Hoagland, the newly-minted ACC Freshman of the Year, also accounted for two Top-10 national times, ranking fourth in the 1650 Free (14:35.19) and 10th in the 400 IM (3:40.73). He posted a 4:12.15 in the 500 Free, ranking 11th nationally. He received All-ACC honors in those three events, reaching the podium in each at the conference championships. 

Montesi, a first-time NCAA qualifier and team captain, turned in a 1:40.14 in the 200 Back to set a program record and rank 11th in the nation in the event. 

The 800 Free Relay group of McKeen, Yeadon, Wilburn and Schultz set a program record and A-cut 6:16.86 at the ACC Championships. 

On the women’s side, Claire Andrews, Abbie Dolan, Coleen Gillilan, Erin Isola, Kate McCahan, Carly Quast, Bayley Stewart, Kelly Straub, Luciana Thomas and Annie Wiese received the honor. 

Gillilan constructed a remarkable freshman season, earning All-ACC honors after placing third in the 200 Fly at the conference championships. Her 1:54.79 200 Fly ranked 22nd in the nation, while her program-record 52.13 in the 100 Fly ranked 25th. 

Dolan, a four-time NCAA qualifier, was set to compete in her final national championship meet. Her time of 1:44.60 ranked 23rd nationally. Luciana Thomas, meant to compete in her second NCAA Championships, swam a 1:54.70 200 Fly to rank 21st nationally. 

On the diving end, two Irish men earned the honor in addition to five Notre Dame women. At the ACC Championships, the Irish women compiled the highest team diving score among all teams, placing competitors in four finals performances. Led by Isola and Straub, both named ACC Divers of the week over the course of the season, Notre Dame posted 151 points off the 1-meter, 3-meter and platform. 

A full list of All-American honors is included below. 



Josh Bottelberghe – 200 Breast

Austin Flaute – 1-Meter Diving

Jack Hoagland – 500 Free, 1650 Free, 400 IM

Sadler McKeen – 200 Free, 800 Free Relay

Jack Montesi – 100 Back, 200 Back

David Petrison – Platform Diving

Aaron Schultz – 200 Fly, 800 Free Relay

Zach Smith – 200 Fly

Cason Wilburn – 800 Free Relay

Zach Yeadon – 500 Free, 1650 Free, 800 Free Relay



Claire Andrews – 3-Meter Diving, Platform Diving

Abbie Dolan – 200 Free

Coleen Gillilan – 100 Fly, 200 Fly, 200 IM

Erin Isola – 3-Meter Diving, Platform Diving

Kate McCahan – 3-Meter Diving

Carly Quast – 100 Back

Bayley Stewart – 200 Back

Kelly Straub – 1-Meter Diving, 3-Meter Diving, Platform Diving

Luciana Thomas – 200 Fly

Annie Wiese – 3-Meter Diving, Platform Diving