Walter Schafer won the 3,000m run Saturday morning.

Tracy Wins Women's Meyo Mile To Highlight Strong Irish Day Two

Feb. 2, 2013

Complete Results

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame men’s and women’s track and field teams captured 16 top-eight finishes and four event victories on the final day of the Meyo Invitational inside the Loftus Sports Center.

Walter Schafer (3,000m – 8:23.17), Rebecca Tracy (Meyo Mile – 4:39.52) and Patrick Feeney (400m – 46.13) all earned a victory in their respected event on day two. The men’s 4x4m relay team (Brendan Dougherty, Christopher Giesting, Jarrod Buchanon, Patrick Feeney) ran away with a first-place finish after crossing the line at 3:09.93.

Feeney’s time in the 400m raised his school record another notch after previously setting the standard (46.55) at the 2012 Alex Wilson Invitational. On the women’s side freshman Danielle Aragon broke the indoor 800m record by finishing the race in 2:07.58, .66 better than Kelly Langhans (2:08.24) ran the event in 2009. Jade Barber set a school record Friday in the 60m hurdles with a time of 8.26.

For the meet the Irish had six event wins and set three school records.

New Meyo meet records were accomplished on the final day by Nike’s Kylie Huston (Invitational Pole Vault – 4.55m) and Gena Gall (800m – 2:03.33). Huston’s mark in the pole vault was also a new Meyo track record and placed her with the second-best performance in the world for the event so far this year.

Indiana State’s Felisha Johnson set her second meet record of the weekend in the shot put (17.00m) after gathering in the meet record yesterday in the weight throw. A total of five meet records fell during the two-day meet.

Notre Dame will head next to Allendale, Mich. to compete in the Grand Valley Big Meet Feb. 8-9.

COMPLETE RESULTS (Top Eight Finishes Only)


60m Hurdles: Nevada Sorenson placed second in the event stopping the clock at 8.26. Jade Baber was sixth with a time of 9.21 after stumbling over one of the hurdles.

Triple Jump: Mary Esther Gourdin placed fourth in the event after leaping 12.54m. Gourdin’s distance gives her a career best and currently ranks as the top mark in the BIG EAST.

Shot Put: Emily Morris came away with an eighth place finish after throwing a distance of 14.50m. Indiana State’s Felisha Johnson set a new meet record with a hurl of 17.00m. The record was previously set in 2007 by Northern Iowa’s Rachel Jansen (16.09m).

Invitational Pole Vault: Kylie Hutson’s (Nike) vault of 4.60m proved to be the second-best mark in the world and in the U.S so far in 2013. It additionally broke the Meyo Track record, which was previously set by Mary Saxer (unattached – ND alum) in 2011 with a clearance of 4.24m.

Meyo Mile: Rebecca Tracy won the event with a time of 4:39.52. The finish was just over a second shy of tying Lauren King’s 2005 record of 4:38.37. Today’s finish gives her the eighth best time in the nation and the third best time in the BIG EAST. Kelly Curran placed eighth after crossing the line at 4:53.51. Curran’s finish qualifies her for the mile at the BIG EAST meet.

400m: Michelle Brown finished third with a time of 54.67.

800m: Danielle Aragon stopped the clock at 2:07.58 to finish third. Gena Gall won the event with a time of 2:03.33. Gall set a new record for the Meyo Invitational overtaking Melissa Bishop’s previous time of 2:03.72 (2012).

Invitational 3,000m: Alexa Aragon placed sixth with a time of 9:34.48. The finish gives here the sixth best BIG EAST time this year.

4x400m Relay: The Irish closed out the meet with a second place finish in the 4x400m relay. Jade Barber, Michelle Brown, Megan Yanik and Margaret Bamgbose crossed the line in 3:38.50, just .03 behind first place Michigan State (3:38.47).


3,000m: Walter Schafer won the first men’s event of the day with a fantastic kick over the last 400m. After staying in good position for the majority of the race, Schafer emerged as the fastest man to cross the line ahead of everyone else in 8:23.17.

MEYO MILE: An extremely talented field toed the line at this year’s signature Meyo Mile. The biggest name was 2012 1,500m NCAA champion Andy Bayer. Unfortunately, Notre Dame’s lead miler, Jeremy Rae, was sidelined with injury and would not be able to protect his title. The many fans, clutching their thundersticks, were treated to a great race nonetheless. Bayer seemed to be biding his time as he sat in fourth position following a sub-four-minute pace. With 500m to go, Illinois’s Graham Morris made a strong move to the front. Going into the final lap, Wisconsin’s Austin Mudd took the lead and would not let go. He nonchalantly glided across the line in first place while giving a courtesy wave to the crowd. Mudd completed the five laps of the Meyo in 3:59.33. This is the ninth sub-4:00 performance in five years for this event.

400m: Irish runners dominated this event, finishing one-two in a competitive 400m invitational. Patrick Feeney broke the Notre Dame indoor record he set last year to finish first in 46.13 seconds. Chris Giesting was right behind him at 46.98 seconds to secure second place. Feeney’s and Giesting’s times are good enough for second and seventh nationally, respectively, at the time of this writing.

Ryan Shay 3,000m: The day’s second marquee event hosted what was surely the most impressive individual performance. Kennedy Kithuka, 2012 NCAA Cross Country champion, absolutely dominated the rest of the field. He led from wire to wire building up a lead of over 100m along the way. His time, 7:50.26, is good enough for the second best time in the NCAA so far this year. He did all of this with a smile on his face. His training partner and fellow Red Raider, Ezekiel Kissorio, came in second, and Louisville’s Edwin Kibichiy came in third.

4x400m Relay: Brendan Dougherty, Christopher Giesting, Jarrod Buchanon and Patrick Feeney each contributed to a first-place finish after stopping the clock at 3:09.93.

Triple Jump: Irish jumper Logan Renwick finished eighth in this event with a 14.77m try.

Event Victories
Michael Clevenger (5,000m – 14:26.98)
Megan Yanik (500m – 1:13.32)
Ann Polcari (Pole Vault – 4.00m)
Walter Schafer (3,000m – 8:23.17)
Rebecca Tracy (Mile – 4:39.52)
Patrick Feeney (400m – 46.13)
Brendan Dougherty, Chris Giesting, Jarrod Buchanon and Patrick Feeney (4x4m Relay – 3:09.93)

Notre Dame Records
Jade Barber (8.26 – 60m hurdles)
Patrick Feeney (46.13 – 400m)
Danielle Aragon (2:07.58 – 800m)

Meet Records
Women’s Weight Throw – Felisha Johnson – Indiana State – 20.81m
Men’s Weight Throw – Brandon Pounds- Indiana State – 22.55m
Women’s Invitational Pole Vault – Kylie Huston – Nike – 4.55m
Women’s Shot Put – Felisha Johnson – Indiana State – 17.00m
Women’s 800m – Gena Gall – Nike – 2:03.33

Track Records
Women’s Invitational Pole Vault – Kylie Hutson – Nike – 4.55m

Men’s Meyo Mile (sub-4:00)
Austin Mudd – Wisconsin – 3:59.33