Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Three Rowers Earn All-Region Honors

June 6, 2017

Three University of Notre Dame rowers have earned all-region honors from the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA), as announced by the organization on Tuesday, June 6, 2017.

Seniors Erin Boxberger (first team) and Gretchen Bruggeman (second team), along with junior Treasa O’Tighearnaigh (first team) will advance for consideration for All-America honors. It was the third all-region selection of Boxberger’s career, while O’Tighearnaigh and Bruggeman earned their first honor from the nation’s rowing coaches.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team’s regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams’ varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season.

All three Irish rowers were key members of Notre Dame Varsity Eight in 2017, helping the team finish second at the ACC Championship (third as a team overall) and advance to the NCAA Championshp where Notre Dame finished 16th in the final team standings.

? Check out THE COMEBACK
The Irish rally in the final 350m to take 2nd at the @ACCRowing championship.

– Notre Dame Rowing (@NDRowing) May 18, 2017

Late last week, the CRCA also announced the members of its scholar athlete team for the 2017 season. Nine Irish athletes were honored by the CRCA, including Boxberger and O’Tighearnaigh. They were joined on the list by Moira Hamilton, Samantha Hedrick, Reilly Kearney, Kelly Fischer, Molly Pierce, Lauren Saunee and Catherine Wagner.

2017 CRCA All-Region Honors

Region 3

First Team:

Shannon Barry, University of Texas
Erin Boxberger, University of Notre Dame
Erin Briggs, University of Virginia
Gia Doonan, University of Texas
Kristi Harrison, University of Louisville
Carljin Hutter, University of Oklahoma
Ljiljana Josic, University of Texas
Nicole Lane, University of Alabama
Katherine Maitland, Duke University
Treasa O’Tighernaigh, University of Notre Dame
Georgia Ratcliff, University of Virginia
Miriam Soufi, University of Texas
Hattie Taylor, Syracuse University

Second Team:

Gretchen Bruggeman, University of Notre Dame
Noelle Dykmann, Kansas State University
Lexi Gill, Syracuse University
Jane Hudson, University of Virginia
Colette Lucas-Conwell, University of Virginia
Philippa Loveard, University of Texas
Maegan Neihart, University of Oklahoma
Ellen Pate, University of Virgina
Caitlin Yaccarino, Boston College