Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Three Men's Lacrosse Players Earn All-Conference Honors

May 26, 1999

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Seniors Chris Dusseau (Columbus, Ohio) and Laurence Galli (Garden City, N.Y.) and sophomore David Ulrich (Baltimore, Md.) garnered Great Western Lacrosse League All-Conference honors for the 1999 season.

Dusseau earned all-conference honors at attack for the fourth consecutive year after leading the team in goals scored for the fourth straight year. A two-time GWLL player-of-the-week honoree, Dusseau was third in the Irish scoring column this season with a single-season personal best of 33 goals and two assists for 35 points. A starter in all 51 games during his career, he finished second all-time in goals scored (113) and eighth in career points (126). Dusseau tied the Notre Dame mark for goals scored in an away game when he netted a career-high six in a 9-7 Irish victory over Massachusetts on April 24.

Ulrich also was the recipient of GWLL player-of-the week honors this season and earns all-conference honors for the first time in his two-year career. He led the Irish in scoring this past season with 17 goals and a team-leading 31 assists for 48 points. A 14-game starter at attack, he led the Irish in assists for the second straight year. Ulrich currently ranks 11th nationally with 2.21 assists per game, He had either a goal or an assist in all 14 games and has registered a point in 19 consecutive contests dating back to the 1998 campaign. Ulrich has 32 goals and 46 assists in his two seasons at Notre Dame.

Galli was one of two defensive players to earn starts in all 14 contests in ’99 and earns GWLL all-conference honors for the first time in his career. He collected 13 ground balls during the season and finished with 44 in his career.

Notre Dame, which earned a berth in the NCAA tournament for the seventh time in eight seasons, posted an 8-6 mark during the ’99 campaign. The Irish also finished 14th in the final United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) ranking.

Great Western Lacrosse League Honors:
Attack: Chris Dusseau, Sr., Notre Dame; David Ulrich, So., Notre Dame; Chris Vosburgh, Jr., Butler

Midfield: Ben Focht, Sr., Butler; Cory Kahoun, Sr., Butler, Mike Law, So. Denver; Mike Regan, Jr., Butler, Greg Zytkowski, Jr., Ohio State

Defense: Laurence Galli, Sr., Notre Dame; Kevin Grizzle, Sr., Butler, Ryan Hogan, Jr., Denver

Goalie: Mike Abeles, Jr., Ohio State

Player of the Year: Cory Kahoun, Butler

Coach of the Year: Joe Breschi, Ohio State