Scott Rodgers was a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee last season.

Three Irish Players Named To Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

March 10, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame seniors Sam Barnes (D), Grant Krebs (M) and Scott Rodgers (GK) have been named to the 64-man watch list for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate lacrosse player.

Barnes (Branford, Conn./Branford) received honorable mention All-America honors last season as he helped the Notre Dame defense rank first nationally with a school-record 6.19 goals-against average. He started every game last season and has played in 38 contests during his Fighting Irish career. The senior has yet to play this season due to an injury.

Krebs (Annapolis, Md./St. Mary’s) also received honorable mention All-America accolades one season ago. He tallied 38 points on 29 goals and nine assists during the 2009 campaign. Krebs has four goals and one assist through four games this season. For his career, he has played in 49 games, including 37 starts, and has notched 82 points on 62 goals and 20 assists.

Rodgers (Wantagh, N.Y./MacArthur) was a third-team All-American in 2009 as he led all NCAA Division I goalies with a 6.14 goals-against average and a .663 save percentage in his first season as a starter. The fifth-year senior boasts an 18-2 career record between the pipes. This season, he is 3-1 with a 7.63 goals-against average and a .613 save percentage. Rodgers was a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee last season.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men’s and women’s lacrosse player of the year. The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The third-ranked Fighting Irish (3-1) return to action against Fairfield on Saturday, March 13 in Houston, Texas. The game is slated for a 1:00 p.m. (CT) start at The Kinkaid School.

— ND –