Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Ten Eyck Named All-Region And Scholar-Athlete Honoree

June 20, 2000

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – Notre Dame senior rower Katrina Ten Eyck (Keystone, S.D.) has been named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches’ Association (CRCA) all-Central Region second team becoming the first Notre Dame rower to earn that distinction.

Ten Eyck, who rowed in the fifth seat of the first varsity eight boat for the Irish this season, set the Notre Dame record in both the 2k and 4k ergometer test in March with times of 7:11.70 and 14:59.90, respectively, while leading her team within 1.2 seconds of the grand final at the Lexus Central Sprints in Oak Ridge, Tenn. Ten Eyck earned Most Valuable Rower honors this season and in May, was one of five winners of the Notre Dame’s Kanaley Award, the most prestigious award bestowed upon a student-athlete at Notre Dame. The honor is given to Irish student-athletes who have been most exemplary as both students and leaders.

The all-region awards are designed to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of female rowers and coxswains. The criteria includes meeting eligibility rules as defined by her institution, participating in at least 75 percent of the season’s races in the first varsity boat and the student-athlete’s head coach must be in good standing with the CRCA. For each region, eight rowers, and if nominated, a coxswain receive first-team honors, with the same number receiving second-team accolades.

Ten Eyck and sophomore Katherine Burnett (Germantown, Tenn.) were also named National Scholar-Athlete Award winners, also marking the first time a Notre Dame athlete has won the honor The National Scholar-Athlete Award recognizes outstanding academic accomplishments of either rowers or coxswains. An athlete must have participated in 75 percent of the season’s races in the varsity boat, enrolled in her second, third or fourth season of competition and maintained a 3.5 or higher grade-point average through the fall semester of the current season.

Ten Eyck, who was the Notre Dame rowing Knute Rockne Scholar-Athlete Award honoree, finished her college career with a 3.611 GPA majoring in the program of liberal studies in the College of Arts and Letters. Ten Eyck was a five-time Dean’s List recipient and posted a perfect 4.0 GPA in the Spring of ’99.

Burnett has a 3.561 GPA and is enrolled in the College of Science majoring in biology. She is a four-time Dean’s List honoree (Fall ’98, Spring ’99, Fall ’99, Spring ’00) and is a member of the Student-Athlete Academic Honors Program at Notre Dame which matches student-athletes who excel at the highest level with University faculty member mentors within the student’s area of interest. Burnett recorded her best semester at Notre Dame in the Spring of ’99 earning a 3.711 GPA, while taking molecular cell biology, organic chemistry and human ethology.

For the 2000 season, 96 Division I student-athletes received the National Scholar Athlete Award, while 32 Division II and III honorees were recognized.

All Central Region Rowing Teams
First Team
Nicole Demott, Michigan State University
Kate Johnson, University of Michigan
Connie Kirsch, Ohio State University
Meghan Martin, University of Iowa
Erin Neppel, University of North Carolina
Risa Petty, University of Kansas
Barb Sheehan, University of Virginia
Liz Shuster, Michigan State University
Belinda Koo, University of Michigan (Coxswain)

All-Central Region Second Team
Mary Collins, University of Wisconsin
Lucy Doolittle, Clemson University
Sara Garrett, University of Virginia
Phaedra Giblin, Ohio State University
Dana Pierce, University of North Carolina
Kate Ronkainen, University of Texas
Emily Saul, University of Tulsa
Katrine Ten Eyck, Notre Dame University
Cassandra Weddel, Michigan State University (Coxswain)

National Scholar-Athletes (Central Region)

Amber Van Kirk Creighton 3.80 Nursing
Wendi Martin Creighton 3.89 Nursing
Mary Dobrauc Creighton 3.65 Business Administration
Gina Cummings Creighton 3.95 Exercise Science
Jami Bassett Creighton 3.89 Physics
Maren Betts-Sonstegard Duke 3.78 Biology
Claire Shepley Indiana 3.57 Psychology
Rachel Johnson Indiana 3.74 Studio Art
Katie Farrels Iowa 3.79 Biology
Lettie Ebbs Kansas 3.59 Business Administration
Abby Rosdahl Kansas 3.70 Accounting
Risa Petty Kansas 4.00 Social Welfare
Laura Hubert Kansas 3.71 Economics
Julie Bender Miami (Ohio) 3.54 Accounting
Amanda Turner Miami (Ohio) 3.64 Finance
Marijika VanderPol Miami (Ohio) 3.73 Accounting
Alison Hickey Michigan 3.68 Political Science/Psychology
Jennifer Kinon Michigan 3.58 English/Fine Arts
Belinda Koo Michigan 3.94 Kinesiology
Sophie Roberge Michigan 3.70 English/French
Jaime Stilson Michigan 3.74 French/Political Science
Krista Buzzell Michigan State 3.84 Physical Science
Nicole Demott Michigan State 3.65 Civil Engineering
Debbie Schulten Murray State 3.65 Biology/Chemistry
Jennifer Stedelin Murray State 3.72 Political Science
Dana Peirce North Carolina 3.51 Biology
Danae Ringelmann North Carolina 3.75 American Studies
Katrina Ten Eyck Notre Dame 3.60 Liberal Studies
Katherine Burnett Notre Dame 3.50 Biology
Kelly Oaigle Texas 3.89 English

National Scholar-Athletes (Central Region)

Kate Ronkainen Texas 3.60 Studio Art/Art History
Brandi Woodson Tulsa 4.00 Philosophy
Emily Saul Tulsa 3.79 Psychology
Jennifer Smith Tulsa 4.00 Speech Pathology
Kirin Surpless Virginia 3.76 Commerce
Jennifer Pofahl Wisconsin 4.00 Zoology
Tessa Michaelson Wisconsin 3.90 Elementary Education
Kathryn Hammes Wisconsin 3.67 Bacteriology
Alyssa Vegter Wisconsin 3.58 International Relations