Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Taylor Selected to College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021

NOTRE DAME, Indiana — Aaron Taylor, one of the best offensive linemen in the illustrious success of the Irish in that position, has been named to the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021. 

A former team captain, and first-round pick in the 1994 NFL Draft, Taylor will become the 48th Notre Dame player, along with six former coaches, enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame. The Fighting Irish have more College Football Hall of Fame inductees than any other school. The most recent selection was Raghib “Rocket” Ismail in 2019.

Taylor is one of 11 players and two coaches to earn the honor in 2021, selected from a ballot of 78 All-America players and seven coaches. 

He was a consensus All-American in 1992 and a unanimous All-American in 1993. Taylor took home the Lombardi Award in 1993 and was named the College Interior Lineman of the Year by the Touchdown Club of Columbus. Taylor served as a team captain for the Irish in 1993, when Notre Dame went 11-1 and won the Cotton Bowl. Over his four-year tenure (1990-93), the Irish went 40-8-1. 

Taylor is now a CBS college football analyst. He is the co-founder of the Joe Moore Award, which recognizes the top offensive line in college football each season in honor of former Irish position coach Joe Moore, regarded as one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history, and Taylor’s position coach while at Notre Dame. 

The 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class will officially be inducted during the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7 alongside the 2020 Hall of Fame Class (the 2020 event was canceled due to COVID-19).

The inductees will also be recognized at their respective collegiate institutions with NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the fall. Their accomplishments will be forever immortalized at the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, and each inductee will receive a custom ring created by Jostens, the official and exclusive supplier of NFF rings and awards.