Senior Maggie Tamasitis scored a pair of goals and had one assist in a 11-9 loss to Loyola on Thursday night.

Tamasitis Selected To Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Feb. 15, 2012

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame women’s lacrosse attacker Maggie Tamasitis has been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, it was announced on Wednesday.

The award has been presented annually since 2000 to the top male and female collegiate lacrosse players.

Tamasitis is on the watch list with 53 women’s lacrosse players, including 48 from Division I schools. She is one of only eight from the BIG EAST that received recognition.

As the season progresses additions will be made to the list, with 25 earning the distinction of being Tewaaraton Nominees in late April. In mid-May five finalists will be selected and invited to Washington D.C. for the awards ceremony on May 31 at the Smithsonian Institute’s National Museum of the American Indian.

Since the award began, six Notre Dame student-athletes have been named Tewaaraton Award Nominees, with two being selected as finalists (Crysti Foote, 2006 and Jillian Byers, 2009).

The Boyertown, Pa., product has already had a busy preseason as she was selected to the preseason all-BIG EAST first team as well as the preseason Inside Lacrosse All-America third team.

A co-captain on this year’s team, Tamasitis is coming off a breakout junior campaign that saw her tally 21 goals and 46 assists as she earned first team all-BIG EAST and West/Midwest all-region accolades and third team All-America honors.

The No. 20 Irish kick off the season on Sunday when they play host to No. 6 Stanford at 12 p.m. at Arlotta Stadium. Fans not able to attend the game can follow via live stats or by way of the live stream available on Ticket information can also be found online at

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation taking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. The Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. To honor the heritage of the sport, the Award presents two annual scholarships to students of American Indian decent. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation’s top male and female collegiate lacrosse players and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse.

About The University Club of the City of Washington, DC:

Established in 1904 during the tenure of William Howard Taft, the Club’s first President and later the President of the United States, the membership is a diverse mix of professional, business and government leaders. The Club’s mission is to provide members and their families: congenial social gatherings, good fellowship, excellent dining, guest rooms, athletics, a rich variety of cultural, international and educational programs activities, and other services to enhance health, wellness, intellectual growth and fitness within the Club’s superbly maintained and expanded historic Clubhouse.

2012 Tewaaraton Award Women’s Watch List
Lindsay Abbott, Midfield – SUNY Cortland
Casey Ancarrow, Attack – James Madison University
Kelly Barnes, Defense – Georgetown University
Erin Brennan, Attack – University of Pennsylvania
Brittany Brigandi, Midfield – Le Moyne College
Ashley Bruns, Attack – University of Florida
Dana Cahill, Goalie – Penn State University
Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield – University of North Carolina
Ally Carey, Midfield – Vanderbilt University
Kitty Cullen, Attack – University of Florida
Taylor D’Amore, Attack – Johns Hopkins University
Brittany Dashiell, Midfield – University of Florida
Lindsey deButts, Defense – Princeton University
Alexa Demski, Defense – Towson University
Jasmine DePompeo, Attack – United States Naval Academy
Erica Devito, Midfield – Adelphi University
Brittany Dipper, Goalie – University of Maryland
Danielle Etrasco, Attack – Boston University
Charlie Finnigan, Attack – University of Virginia
Mary Flowers, Midfield – University of Richmond
Julie Gardner, Midfield – University of Virginia
Kristen Giovanniello, Goalie – Dartmouth College
Emma Hamm, Attack – Duke University
Ana Heneberry, Defense – Loyola University
Kristin Igoe, Midfield – Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack – University of Maryland
Catherine Kennedy, Attack – University of Mary Washington
Alyssa Kildare, Defense – Johns Hopkins University
Emily Leitner, Goalie – University of Pennsylvania
Becky Lynch, Attack – University of North Carolina
Mollie Mackler, Goalie – Duke University
Alayna Markwordt, Attack – Ohio State University
Leigh Mitchell, Midfield – The College of New Jersey
Josie Owen, Attack – University of Virginia
Ariana Parker, Midfield – University at Albany
Marlee Paton, Midfield – Loyola University
Sarah Plumb, Midfield – Dartmouth College
Cassie Pyle, Midfield – Princeton University
Iliana Sanza, Defense – University of Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield – University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Midfield – Northwestern University
Jessi Steinberg, Attack – Cornell University
Kerry Stoothoff, Goalie – Loyola University
Maggie Tamasitis, Attack – University of Notre Dame
Danielle Tetreault, Midfield – Harvard University
Kat Thomas, Midfield – Duke University
Sophia Thomas, Midfield – Georgetown University
Taylor Thornton, Defense – Northwestern University
Michelle Tumolo, Attack – Syracuse University
Jennifer VanderMeulen, Attack – Harvard University
Katie Webster, Midfield – Syracuse University
Brittany Wilton, Attack – Boston College
Laura Zimmerman, Attack – University of North Carolina