Feb. 26, 2000

Box Score


NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The Notre Dame men’s and women’s swimming teams won 12 of 18 events Saturday at the Rolfs Aquatic Center in day one action of the Shamrock Classic.

The Notre Dame men were led by event winners sophomore Mike Koss (Aurora, Colo.) in the 100 breaststroke, freshman Jason Colettis (Walpole, Mass.) in the 200 backstroke, junior Ryan Verlin (Rye, N.Y.) in the 100 butterfly and the 400 medley relay team of Colettis, Koss, senior Rob Fetter (Lakeland, Fla.) and freshman Jason Fitzpatrick (Gilbert, Ariz.). Colettis (1:51.44) and the 400 medley relay team (3:30.81) both set meet records with their winning times in the finals, while Verlin set a meet record in the prelims of the 100 butterfly (50.26).

Notre Dame sophomore Brooke Davey (Hopewell Junction, N.Y.) and freshmen Nicole Davis (Granger, Ind.), Meghan Lynch (Huntsville, Ala.) and Lindsay Moorhead (Carefree, Ariz.) each had one individual win to go along with one relay win apiece for the Irish women. Notre Dame’s other individual event winner was junior Kathleen Rimkus (Chantilly, Va.), who swam a time of 1:04.94 in the 100 breaststroke.

The Shamrock Classic concludes Sunday with the preliminaries moved ahead a half an hour to 10:30 a.m. and the finals scheduled for 6 p.m. Full results are available on Notre Dame’s official website, www.und.com.