Jesse Harper

The Notre Dame Monogram Club established the Jesse Harper Award during its 100th anniversary in 2016 as a way to continue to highlight the great accomplishments of its members. The award recognizes Monogram Club members who have demonstrated a committed involvement with the Notre Dame Athletics Department and University. Recipients of the award shall be a Monogram Club member and exhibit one or more of the following:

  • Exemplary performance in the spirit and ideals of the University of Notre Dame
  • Demonstration of responsibility to and concern for his/her community
  • Extraordinary commitment and involvement with youth
  • Outstanding achievement in his/her post-Notre Dame career

The award bears Harper’s name as a way to recognize his many contributions to Notre Dame. Harper coached football (1913-17), basketball (1913-18) and baseball (1914-18) at Notre Dame in addition to serving two stints (1913-17, 1931-33) as the University’s athletics director. Harper holds a very special place in the rich history of the Monogram Club as he, along with Knute Rockne, founded the Club in 1916. Recipients of the Jesse Harper Award will reflect Harper’s dedication and commitment to Notre Dame, its athletics department and its student-athletes.


Jim Gibbons ’53 (baseball/basketball) – 2016

Roger Valdiserri ’54 (honorary) – 2017

Bobby Clark (honorary) – 2017

Tim Welsh (honorary) – 2019