Christine Lux and Dani Miller are two of Notre Dame's top sluggers in 2010.

Softball's Christine Lux And Dani Miller Earn Academic All-District Honors From ESPN The Magazine

May 6, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Senior first baseman Christine Lux was named first-team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District V for the second time in as many years while sophomore Dani Miller was named to the second team, as announced Thursday afternoon by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

A native of Glendale Heights, Ill., Lux ranks 14th nationally with 16 home runs in 2010, a mark that broke Notre Dame’s single-season record which she set in 2008 and 2009 (15). In fact, the accounting major is coming off a 4-for-4 day against Wisconsin (April 29) in her home finale with two home runs – including a grand slam – while tying a program record with seven RBI. Lux is also 15th nationally with slugging percentage of .837.

Miller is a pre-professional studies major with a 3.31 grade-point average from Huntington Beach, Calif. The only freshman named first-team all-BIG EAST in 2009, Miller, a second baseman, is also the only Irish infielder without an error in 2010 (43 putouts, 24 assists). She has two three-RBI performances this season and a four-RBI output against Valparaiso (April 21). Miller has nine home runs, five doubles and a triple this season while batting .333 through 45 games.

Lux, Miller and No. 24 Notre Dame (41-9 overall, 15-3 BIG EAST Conference) head to St. John’s (May 8-9) for a three-game league series to wrap up the regular season.

Voting for the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District V Team was conducted by CoSIDA members in that district, which encompasses Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota and Wisconsin, as well as the Canadian provinces of Manitoba and Ontario. To qualify, student-athletes must hold at least sophomore status, own a minimum GPA of 3.3 or better, and be either a starter or key reserve for their team. Those student-athletes who earn first-team citations are eligible for Academic All-America honors as members of the national ballot.