Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Smith Repeats As Notre Dame Women's Golf Campus Champion

Aug. 29, 2000

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Senior Shane Smith (St. Petersburg, Fla.) repeated as the women’s champion while upstart freshman Peter Rivas (New Orleans) surged into the second-round lead in the 72-hole men’s competition, following Sunday’s action at the annual Notre Dame Campus Championship, which is being held for the first time at Warren Golf Course.

Smith was one shot off the pace after carding an 80 in Saturday’s round before closing with the best round of the women’s championship (76) for a 156 total and a five-stroke cushion on the field. Freshman Shannon Byrne (Arlington Heights, Ill.) had an impressive debut to claim runner-up honors (83-78/161) while three players tied for third place at 163: senior Kristin McMurtrie (80-83, Calgary, Alberta) and sophomores Priscilla Ro (80-83, Falls Church, Va.) and Shelby Strong (79-84, Stillwater, Minn.).

Rivas stood one stroke out of first place after his opening-round 72 but turned in a 70 on Sunday to claim a two-stroke cushion heading into the final 36 holes-which will be played at Warren on Sunday, Sept. 3, beginning at 8:00 a.m. (the event is open and free to the public).

Senior Alex Kent (77, Asuncion, Paraguay) bounced back from a rocky first-round 77 to post the tournament’s only round in the 60s (67)-landing him in second place at 144. Sophomore Brandon Lunke (72-73, San Antonio, Texas) and junior Kyle Monfort (73-72, Dublin, Ohio) are one stroke back of Kent while senior Pat Schaffler (71-75, Dallas, Texas) and junior Chris Whitten (73-73, Rockford, Mich.) are tied for fifth a 146.

The 35-player men’s field has been trimmed to the top 19 for the final two rounds, with 156 being the two-round cutoff. Others currently in the top 11 include juniors Steve Ratay (71-76/147, Arlington Heights, Ill.) and Jon Kosares (75-74/149, Denver, Colo.) and three freshmen: Chris Thomason (76-73/149, Memphis, Tenn.), William McCaughan (71-80/151, Key Biscayne, Fla.) and Donald Wolfe (74-77/151, Miami, Fla.).

Other top finishers in the 16-player women’s field included senior Danielle Villarosa (Verona, N.J.) in sixth place at 164 (82-82), freshman Jeanne Murphy at 168 (88-80, Alexandria, Va.) and two players at 170: junior Lauren Fuchs (79-91, Louisville, Ky.) and sophomore Michelle Halverson (81-89, Plymouth, Minn.).

Other men’s golfers who made the cut for the final 36 holes included: sophomores Rory Cleary (Grosse Point Shores, Mich.) and Aaron Roth (Willmar, Minn.), junior Jonathan Volk (Melbourne, Fla.), sophomore Michael Hastings (Spokane, Wash.), junior Kevin Ricci (Heathrow, Fla.), freshman Gavin Ferlic (South Bend, Ind.), senior Adam Anderson (Plankinton, S.D.) and sophomore Jarrett Bingemann (Ponte Verda Beach, Fla.).

Final 36-hole standings, Aug. 26-27 … Warren Golf Course

1. Shane Smith 80-76/156, 2. Shannon Byrne 83-78/161, 3. Priscilla Ro 80-83/163, Shelby Strong 79-84/163, Kristin McMurtrie 80-83/163, 5. Danielle Villarosa 82-82/164, 6. Jeanne Murphy 88-80/168, 7. Lauren Fuchs 79-91/170, Michelle Halverson 81-89/170, 9. Rebecca Rogers 89-83/172, 10. Nina Siggins 93-82/175, Terri Taibl 88-87/175, 12. Elisa Kushi 94-89/183, Jenny Lynch 85-100/185, Sara Rabe 95-98/193, Susan Murray 108-106/214.

36 holes of 72, Aug. 26-27, Sept. 3 … Warren Golf Course

1. Peter Rivas 72-70/142, 2. Alex Kent 77-67/144, 3. Brandon Lunke 72-73/145, Kyle Monfort 73-72/145, 5. Pat Schaffler 71-75/146, Chris Whitten 73-73/146, 7. Steve Ratay 71-76/147, 8. Jon Kosares 75-74/149, Chris Thompson 76-73/149, 10. William McCaughan 71-80/151, Donald Wolfe 74-77/151, 12. Rory Cleary 72-80/152, Aaron Roth 75-77/152, Jonathan Volk 78-74/152, 14. Michael Hastings 75-78/153, Kevin Ricci 75-78/153, 16. Gavin Ferlic 76-78/154, 17. Adam Anderson 82-75/155, 18. Jarrett Bingemann 74-82/156

Failed to make cut: Bo Plummer 79-78/157, Jeff Irish 79=78/157, Dan Buttke 75-83/158, Fernando Herrera 75-83/158, L.J. Hayes 78-81/159, Charles Hambrook 79-80/159, Adam Vecchi 84-78/162, Corey Campbell 79-84/163, Cameron Schubert 83-81/164, John Micek 83-81/164, Tim Kiley 81-85/166, Wesley Gleason 84-83/167, Nick Daveline 8-88/168, B.J. Kloska 85-85/170, Andy Whiting 81-WD, Wade Hellner 88-WD.