Junior Margaret Smith

Smith, B. Sullivan Named To Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Feb. 23, 2013

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame women’s lacrosse standouts Margaret Smith and Barbara Sullivan have both been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, it was announced Friday by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

The award has been presented annually since 2000 to the top male and female collegiate lacrosse players. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Smith and Sullivan are on the watch list with 50 women’s lacrosse players, including 45 from Division I schools. The pair is two of only seven from the BIG EAST that received recognition.

Sophomore Barbara Sullivan

As the season progresses additions will be made to the list, with 25 earning the distinction of being Tewaaraton Nominees in late April. In mid-May five finalists will be selected and invited to Washington D.C., for the awards ceremony May 30 at the Smithsonian Institute’s National Museum of the American Indian.

Since the award began, seven Notre Dame student-athletes have been named Tewaaraton Award Nominees, with two being selected as finalists (Crysti Foote, 2006 and Jillian Byers, 2009).

Last year Notre Dame’s all-time assists leader Maggie Tamasitis was named a Tewaaraton Nominee after rewriting the Notre Dame and BIG EAST record books for much of the season.

The No. 9/8 Irish kick off their home schedule at 6 p.m. next Wednesday when they welcome in No. 13/NR Ohio State to either Arlotta Stadium or Loftus Sports Center depending on weather. Fans not able to attend the game can follow via live stats or by way of the live stream available on UND.com. Ticket information can also be found online at UND.com/tickets.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit www.tewaaraton.com.

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. While 2013 is The Year of the Mohawk, the men’s watch list includes three members of the Onondaga Nation in Lyle, Miles and Ty Thompson from Albany.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award or to attend the awards ceremony, visit www.tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at www.facebook.com/tewaaraton and www.twitter.com/tewaaraton.

2013 Tewaaraton Award Women’s Watch List

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison – Sr., A

Alex Aust, Maryland – Sr., A

Courtney Bennett, Dartmouth – Sr., D

Becca Block, Syracuse – Sr., D

Katie Bollhorst, Salisbury – Sr., A

Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina – Sr., M

Tatum Coffey, Penn State – Soph., M

Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook – Sr., M

Kitty Cullen, Florida – Sr., A

Taylor D’Amore, Johns Hopkins – Jr., A

Brittany Dashiell, Florida – Sr., M

Alexa Demski, Towson – Sr., D

Jasmine DePompeo, Navy – Sr., A

Maria Di Fato, Cortland – Sr., M

Tori Dugan, West Chester – Sr., A

Megan Dunleavy, Virginia – Sr., D

Danielle Etrasco, Boston University – Sr., A

Sam Farrell, Florida – Sr., D

Katie Ferris, Massachusetts – Jr., A

Caitlin Fifield, Richmond – Sr., A

Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern – Sr., A

Emily Garrity, North Carolina – Sr., M

Kristin Giovanniello, Dartmouth – Jr., GK

Anna Kim, Stanford – Jr., M

Kim Kolarik, Virginia – Sr., GK

Tayler Kuzma, Ohio State – Jr., D

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern – Jr., M

Megan Leonhard, Trinity – Sr., M

Lauren Maksym, North Carolina – Sr., GK

Kelly McPartland, Maryland – Soph., M

Mikey Meagher, Florida – Sr., GK

Maddy Morrissey, Duke – Jr., M

Lyndsey Munoz, Stanford – Jr., GK

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse – Jr., A

Ariana Parker, Albany – Jr., M

Marlee Paton, Loyola – Jr., M

Claire Petersen, Stony Brook – Sr., A

Maddie Poplawski, Penn – Sr., M

Caroline Salisbury, Cornell – Sr., A

Iliana Sanza, Maryland – Sr., D

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland – Sr., M

Jaclyn Sileo, LIU-Post – Jr., A

Margaret Smith, Notre Dame – Jr., M

Covie Stanwick, Boston College – Soph., A

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame – Soph., D

Megan Takacs, Cal – Sr., A

Sophia Thomas, Georgetown – Sr., M

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern – Sr., M

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse – Sr., A

Taylor Virden, Duke – Jr., D