Honorary Monogram winner and women's basketball head coach Muffet McGraw (center) took photos with each of the foursomes.

Sixth Annual Riehle Open Highlights Monogram Club Events During Reunion Weekend

June 3, 2013

Riehle Open/Summer Cookout Photo Gallery

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – After cold and rainy conditions at last year’s outing, members of the Monogram Club enjoyed near-perfect weather for the 2013 Riehle Open on Notre Dame’s Warren Golf Course this past Friday, May 31.

Before thunder and lightning struck the Michiana region on Friday evening, more than 70 Monogram Club members and their guests hit the links during the organization’s summer weekend, held annually during the University’s reunion activities. Named in honor of former executive director, the late Rev. James Riehle, C.S.C. (’49), the Open is a way for the Monogram Club to pay tribute to his vision and legacy each year.

The Monogram Club opened its weekend of festivities with the annual Summer Mass & Cookout on Thursday evening in Purcell Pavilion, with more than 150 Monogram winners and guests in attendance. Athletics department chaplain Rev. Mark B. Thesing, C.S.C. (’81, ’85 & ’92) presided over Mass in the Rosenthal Atrium before guests made the trip upstairs to Club Naimoli for the cookout.

“The opportunity to gather with fellow Monogram winners on campus during reunion weekend is always special for this Club. The camaraderie and fellowship amongst members is great to be a part of each year,” executive director Beth Hunter said. “This weekend always holds a special place in our hearts because of the opportunity to reflect on Fr. Jim Riehle and the tremendously positive impact he had on helping make the Monogram Club what it is today.”

In addition to the Monogram winners in attendance, a number of Notre Dame coaches, support staff members and administrators took part in the Open, including senior associate athletics director Tom Nevala (’90, manager), head coaches Susan Holt (women’s golf) and Joe Piane (cross country/track & field), assistant coaches Bob Elliott (football), Anthony Solomon (men’s basketball), Adam Beltran (track & field) and Jim Garnham (track & field), coordinator of hockey operations Nick Siergiej, coordinator of men’s basketball operations Harold Swanagan (’02, basketball) and director of football development Dave Peloquin (’03, manager).

Several Monogram Club board members also competed in the event, including president Haley Scott DeMaria (’95, swimming), past president Dick Nussbaum (’74 & ’77, baseball), secretary/legal counsel Mike Frantz (’73, football), and directors Chris Stevens (’74, basketball) and Will McCarthy (’95 & ’99, swimming). Also on campus for the Summer Mass & Cookout were advisor Kevin McShane (’90, football) and director emeritus Marty Allen (’58, manager).

“I take the annual Riehle Open, the ‘annual’ part very seriously. This is the one time of year where I play golf, but I love it,” DeMaria said. “And I think our foursome today is a real reflection of what’s so great about the Monogram Club. I had a member from the 60’s, the 70’s, the 2000’s, and I’m from the 1990’s, and I really think that’s what special and unique about the Monogram Club. We may have all been here at different times and had different experiences, but our love for this place, and being part of this Club is really special and unique.”

While on the course, golfers were treated to boxed lunches from Einstein Bros Bagels, pizza from Papa John’s and sliders from Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse. During the 18-hole scramble, participants also had the opportunity to compete in longest drive, closest to the pin, and hole-in-one contests for the chance to win adidas, Keurig and TaylorMade prizes.

Leading the pack with a round of 55 (-17), the team of former Irish football players Jim Weiler (’77), Ed Sharkey (’77), Joseph Pszeracki (’76), Tom Maschmeier (’76) and Ken Andler (’76) took home adidas gift cards.

Sharkey also won a TaylorMade golf bag for hitting the longest drive on the 5th hole.

The second-place group of Bob Nicolazzi (’60, football), Terry Lally (’60, golf), Mike LaFrance (’73, golf) and Frank Leyes (’85, golf) carded a round of 57 (-15), while the third-place team of Ed Healy (’57, cheerleading), Tim Healy (’89), John McGinley (’58, football) and Mike Walker (’63, baseball) shot a 59 (-13).

Closest to the pin winners were Andy Corrao (’54, baseball), Ken Wolbeck (’74, basketball) and Tim Healy for their shots on the 9th, 14th and 4th holes, respectively, while Mike Walker won a gift basket from Kilwin’s for hitting the longest drive on the 17th hole.