Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Six Irish Named Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

March 28, 2018

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Six University of Notre Dame hockey players were named 2017-18 Winter Academic All-Big Ten honorees the conference recently announced.

The list of Notre Dame’s selections included juniors Dylan Malmquist and Andrew Oglevie and sophomores Cal Burke, Cale Morris, Luke Novak and Andrew Peeke.

Malmquist, Burke, Morris and Novak all earned academic recognition from Hockey East last season.

The Irish have now recorded 22 members of the conference academic teams over the last three seasons.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list as of March 1 for winter sports, who have been enrolled fulltime at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

All told, 81 hockey student-athletes were selected as 2017-18 Academic All-Big Ten honorees.

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. To be eligible for selection, students must be a recipient of Academic All-Big Ten Recognition in the previous academic year, must be enrolled for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher during that time. This GPA shall be calculated based on the previous academic year only, excluding summer. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.

— ND —