Marshall Sherman

Sherman Starts Shamrock Invite With Individual Win

Jan. 27, 2012

Complete Results | Photo Gallery media-icon-photogallery.gif

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Senior Marshall Sherman earned a win in the 200 individual medley Friday evening at the Rolfs Aquatic Center to help the Notre Dame men’s swimming and diving team open the first of the Shamrock Invitational’s three sessions.

Sherman went 1:50.31 for the win but Iowa got the better end of the scoreboard with a 72-38 advantage.

Notre Dame will continue its battle with the Hawkeyes on Saturday beginning with a 10:00 a.m. (ET) morning session. This year’s senior class will be recognized prior to the meet’s third session set to start at 5:00 p.m. (ET).

Live results will be available at

200 Freestyle Relay: The quartet of Frank Dyer, Kevin Overholt, John McGinley and Christopher Johnson hung tough with their Iowa counterparts Ryan Phelan, Paul Gordon, Jordan Huff and Brian Donatelli (1:20.89) and touched just shy of first with an NCAA B-cut time of 1:21.55 … the squad of Kevin Rahill, Jonathan Whitcomb, Jack Donovan and Pat Sullivan posted a fourth-place finish in 1:25.09.

500 Freestyle: Leading all the way up to the final 25 yards, Dyer was unable to hold on for the victory as he was out-touched by Manuel Belzer, 4:25.98 to 4:26.05 … Ryan Belecanech posted a strong time in 4:33.62 during an earlier heat to secure fourth place.

200 Individual Medley: Sherman took the field by storm, winning the event during the second of three heats in 1:50.31 … Patrick Olson and Colin Babcock dueled for the bronze, and Babcock proved victorious (1:51.64 to 1:51.72).

50 Freestyle: Overholt was the highest placing Irish swimmer, coming in fourth at 20.92 … Iowa’s Phelan came close to breaking a pool record, posting a time of 20.08 for an NCAA B-cut.

1-meter Diving: Iowa’s Osvel Molina took first place honors with a 311.40 … Nick Nemetz (290.40) and Ryan Koter (280.73) placed second and third, respectively.

400 Medley Relay: A stellar breaststroke leg from Cameron Miller (55.57) was not enough to propel the Irish past the top two Hawkeye relays, as the team of Petrovic, Miller, Dyer and Overholt (3:19.64) fell to the squads of Betulius, Schneider, Butler and Gordan (3:18.26) and Rhoads, Marciniak, Taylor and Huff (3:19.64).