Senior attackman Sean Rogers earned his second career BIG EAST player-of-the-week accolade.

Sean Rogers And Kevin Randall Receive BIG EAST Weekly Honors

March 5, 2012

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame senior attackman Sean Rogers has been named the BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Week for men’s lacrosse, while fellow senior Kevin Randall was selected to the league’s weekly honor roll. The Irish duo was instrumental in Saturday’s 6-5 win at No. 18 Drexel.

Rogers (New Hyde Park, N.Y./Holy Trinity) tallied the game winner against the Dragons with 4:42 left in the contest. He scored a game-high tying two goals in the Fighting Irish victory in addition to picking up a career-high three ground balls. His first goal gave the Irish their first lead of the game (3-2) midway through the third quarter.

This is the second career BIG EAST player-of-the-week citation for Rogers. He also received the honor on March 28, 2011. Rogers is the second Notre Dame player to earn a league player-of-the-week accolade this season. Junior goalie John Kemp was tabbed as the defensive player of the week on Feb. 20.

Randall (Penfield, N.Y./Penfield) was part of a Fighting Irish defense that limited Drexel to just five goals. The Dragons entered the contest averaging 10 goals scored per game. The Irish defense posted a scoreless streak totaling 33:27 that started midway through the first quarter and ended with 3:33 remaining in the third quarter. Randall also picked up two ground balls and caused two turnovers.

The Notre Dame defense has posted a scoreless streak of at least 24 minutes in all three games this season. The Irish have only allowed 12 goals in their first three games of the season. That is the fewest amount of goals the Irish have ever surrendered through their first three games of a season. This is the first time Notre Dame has limited opponents to five goals or fewer in three consecutive games since the 2007 campaign.

The seventh-ranked Fighting Irish return to action on Saturday at No. 19 Hofstra. Face-off is slated for 3:00 p.m. (ET) at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, N.Y.