April 29, 2016

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – As part of its continued commitment to education, the Monogram Club has named Sarah Kappers (rowing) and Brian Talcott (men’s soccer) the 2016 recipients of the Club’s postgraduate scholarship.

The announcement was made during the athletic department’s 15th annual O.S.C.A.R.S. (Outstanding Student-Athletes Celebrating Achievement & Recognition Showcase) gala, which was held Wednesday inside Purcell Pavilion at the Joyce Center.

This marked the eighth year the Monogram Club awarded a postgraduate scholarship to one male and one female student-athlete. In recognition of outstanding academic achievement, service, leadership, and potential for success in postgraduate study, each individual receives a one-time, nonrenewable grant of $5,000 to attend graduate school.

Kappers (Cincinnati, Ohio) is a six-time dean’s list honoree who carries a 3.89 cumulative grade-point average as a psychology and science pre-professional major. She posted a perfect 4.0 grade-point average in both the spring 2015 and fall 2015 semesters and was awarded an ACC postgraduate scholarship in February. She is a two-time Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) National Scholar-Athlete, a two-time ACC Rowing All-Academic Team member and a two-time selection to the ACC Academic Honor Roll.

“I’m honored to receive the scholarship among a group of many well deserving people,” Kappers said. “I’m very grateful for my family, coaches, teammates, professors and countless other people who have supported me the past four years. I would not be where I am today without them. I also want to extend a huge thank you to the Monogram Club for the generous scholarship and for everything they do to support student-athletes.”

Sarah Kappers

A three-time Monogram recipient, Kappers has competed at two ACC and two NCAA regattas during her Fighting Irish career. Kappers has helped Notre Dame win a BIG EAST Conference title (2013) and finish second at two ACC Championships (2014-15). Notre Dame also has finished ninth and 16th, respectively, at the last two NCAA Championships (2014-15).

“I will take a gap year, and then I plan to attend graduate school for physical therapy starting in June of 2017,” Kappers said. “This scholarship will allow me to continue my education and pursue my goal of becoming a physical therapist.”

Kappers serves as one of the Fighting Irish rowing team’s representatives on the 2015-16 Notre Dame Student-Athlete Advisory Council. In addition, she took part in the Rosenthal Leadership Academy during the 2014-15 academic year.

“Sarah is a tremendous person who has worked extremely hard academically,” Notre Dame rowing head coach Martin Stone said. “That effort is just who she is and that’s led her to do well in rowing. She’s done a great job for us and I’m excited that she’ll hopefully have a few more races left this season.”

Talcott (Omaha, Neb.) boasts a 3.89 cumulative grade-point average as a political science major with a minor in constitutional studies. He has appeared on the dean’s list five times and has produced a 4.0 grade-point average each of the last three semesters and four times overall at Notre Dame.

“I want to thank the Monogram Club for offering this tremendously thoughtful and generous award,” Talcott said. “I think it truly underscores the character and innate goodness of the athletics program and this school as a whole. I will be forever indebted to Notre Dame for all that it has provided me. At Notre Dame, there are so many intelligent, talented, and dedicated student-athletes, and to be considered amongst this group, I am honored and humbled.

“I also want to show my gratitude to my teammates for everything they have given me over my four years here. As Boss (head coach Bobby Clark) always emphasizes, any individual award is actually a team award. I would not be where I am today without their support and friendship, and for that I will be forever grateful.”

Brian Talcott

Talcott, a goalkeeper, was part of some very successful Fighting Irish teams. Notre Dame won the national championship during his sophomore season in 2013 and the Irish claimed three conference titles over the last four campaigns. Notre Dame advanced to at least the round of 16 of the NCAA tournament all four of Talcott’s seasons.

“I’ve wanted to be a lawyer for as long as I can remember, and I’ll get one step closer to that goal this coming fall as I will begin classes at the University of Iowa College of Law,” Talcott said. “It was a really good fit all-around, and I’m looking forward to getting started. My dad is a graduate of the law school, and interestingly I just signed for an apartment complex that my parents lived in over 30 years ago.

“The postgraduate scholarship will help me with all the costs associated with law school, including books, class materials, and living. I’m so grateful for this award because it will help me fulfill my lifelong dream. With the help of this scholarship, I hope to make a difference in the future.”

Talcott was named to the ACC Academic Honor Roll three times in addition to being a BIG EAST Academic All-Star as a freshman. He has been on Notre Dame’s Student-Athlete Advisory Council since 2013 and he was in the Rosenthal Leadership Academy in 2014-15.

“Brian is a great example of a student-athlete,” Fighting Irish men’s soccer head coach Bobby Clark said. “He’s been accepted into almost all of the graduate schools that he’s applied to. The Monogram Club has been a fantastic help to our program and our student-athletes during their time here at Notre Dame. The postgraduate scholarship is a clear demonstration of how that help extends beyond their time at college and helps young athletes get off to a good start when they go to graduate school.”

Monogram Club Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients
2009 – Thomas Bemenderfer (football) and Mallorie Croal (volleyball)
2010 – Tim Andree (basketball) and Cosmina Ciobanu (tennis)
2011 – Tyler Davis (tennis) and Erin Marrone (softball)
2012 – Christopher Iverson (student manager) and Stephanie Myers (fencing)
2013 – Meghan Salomon (rowing) and Dean Odegard (track & field)
2014 – Kelly Curran (cross country/track & field) and Ted Glasnow (track & field)
2015 – Ashley Armstrong (golf) and Peter Schneider (hockey)
2016 – Sarah Kappers (rowing) and Brian Talcott (soccer)