Josh Sandman broke 70 for the ninth time in his Notre Dame career.

Sandman Named To PING All-Midwest Region Team

May 29, 2008

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame junior Josh Sandman (Greensboro, N.C./Southeast Guilford) has been tapped for the 2008 PING All-Midwest Region Team, it was announced Thursday by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). Sandman is the fourth Irish golfer in as many years to be chosen for this honor, following in the footsteps of three-time all-region selection Cole Isban.

A first-time selection, Sandman was one of 15 players to receive all-Midwest Region status this year, based upon their finish in the Individual Ranking System (maintained by the GCAA). He also is one of three BIG EAST Conference golfers on the all-Midwest Region Team, joining Derek Fathauer (Louisville) and Mike Van Sickle (Marquette). In addition, St. John’s had two players earn all-Mid-Atlantic Region honors this season — Mike Ballo Jr. and Keegan Bradley.

Sandman enjoyed one of the finest individual seasons in the 79-year history of the Notre Dame men’s golf program, posting a career-best 73.39 stroke average that goes down as the fifth-best mark in school history. He also reeled off five consecutive top-10 finishes to end the regular season, the longest such run by an Irish golfer since at least 1980 (records are incomplete prior to that time). He went on to garner all-BIG EAST honors for the second consecutive season and then became the first Notre Dame player ever chosen as an individual qualifier for NCAA regional play (he tied for 65th at the Central Regional in Columbus, Ohio).

Sandman returns for his final season in 2008-09 as the school’s career stroke average leader (73.61). He will be the lone senior among nine returning veterans, which include the top seven stroke average players from the ’07-08 season.

— ND —

2008 PING All-Midwest Region Team
Victor Almstrom, Minnesota
Seth Brandon, Indiana
Ryan Brehm, Michigan State
Jorge Campillo, Indiana
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
John Hahn, Kent State
Randy Hutchison, Michigan State
Brent Long, Western Kentucky
David Markle, Kent State
Clayton Rask, Minnesota
Josh Sandman, Notre Dame
Tim Schaetzel, Michigan
Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
Andy Winings, Kentucky
Dan Woltman, Wisconsin