Riley cutting net

Ruth Riley Finalist for Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

NOTRE DAME, Ind. –  At halftime of Thursday night’s No. 1 Notre Dame vs. No. 2 Louisville matchup, the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 12 finalists for consideration for induction into its Hall of Fame. Highlighting the list is none other than 2001 Notre Dame graduate and national champion Ruth Riley.
The 12 finalists for the Class of 2019 are: Beth Bass (Contributor), Debbie Brock (Veteran Player), Joan Cronan (Contributor), Nora Lynn Finch (Contributor), Lucille Kyvallos (Veteran Coach), Ticha Penicheiro (International Player), Ruth Riley (Player), Carolyn Bush Roddy (Veteran Player), Paul Sanderford (Coach), Bob Schneider (Coach), Valerie Still (Player) and Amy Tucker (Contributor – Assistant Coach). 
“Humble and honored to be in consideration with this class, congrats to all the other finalists,” Riley commented on Twitter.
Riley is one of the prestigious few to win a NCAA title, WNBA title and a gold medal at the Olympic Games. She is the only Irish player to record over 2,000 career points and 1,000 rebounds.
Riley was the winner of the 2001 Naismith Award, becoming the first Notre Dame player to be honored. A three-time All-American, Riley was also named the Most Outstanding Player at the 2001 Final Four.
The center went on to a 13-year WNBA career, which included titles in 2003 and 2006 with the Detroit Shock.
Riley is still involved with the game of basketball today, serving as TV studio analyst and radio color commentator for the Miami Heat and Fox Sport Sun.
The Class of 2019 will be selected from the 12 finalists and announced, along with the 2019 Trailblazers of the Game Award recipient, on ESPN2 during the February 4th Baylor at Texas game (7:00 p.m. ET). Below is the selection timeline for the Class of 2019:

  • February 4, 2019: Announce the Class of 2019 and 2019 Trailblazer of the Game Award Recipient. Induction tickets go on sale at 
  • April 2019: Introduce Class of 2019 and 2019 Trailblazer of the Game Award recipient at media events conducted at the 2019 NCAA Women’s Final Four (Tampa, FL). 
  • June 8, 2019: Induction of Class of 2019 and recognition of 2019 Trailblazer of the Game Award recipient (Knoxville, TN).