Notre Dame has announced its special designation home football game for the 2008 season.

Rosters And Rules Set For 76th Annual Blue-Gold Game

April 21, 2005

University of Notre Dame head football coach Charlie Weis announced Thursday evening rosters and game rules for the 76th Annual Blue-Gold Football Game to be held this Saturday at Notre Dame Stadium. Kickoff is set for 1:35 p.m. South Bend time.

Honorary coaches Tim Brown, Joe Montana, Joe Theismann and Chris Zorich will work Saturday’s game. Montana and Zorich will coach the Blue Team while Brown and Theismann will be at the helm of the Gold team.

Game Format


• There will be four 15-minute quarters with a running clock, except for the last 2 minutes of each half (will be played with normal clock rules).

• Officials may stop the clock at their discretion at any time for injuries, measurements, etc.


• Each team will be allowed 3 timeouts per half (clock will stop at each timeout).


• Halftime will last 20 minutes.


• Each team will dress in the home locker room.

• A coin toss will determine which team uses the visitors’ locker room after warm-ups prior to the start of the game and at halftime.


•Has already been held – Gold Team won the toss and will announce its choice prior to kickoff on Saturday.

Other Rules

•2-point conversions may be used only for possible game-winning points in the final 2 minutes of the game.

•Teams cannot kick a field goal to tie the game with during the final 2 minutes of the game – they must go for a first down or a touchdown.

• The Quarterback cannot be touched or tackled. They will wear red jerseys during the game and will warm up in their team colors.

•All turnovers are live ball situations.

• After a score by either team, the team trailing will get the ball on its own 35-yard line.

Special Offense/Defense Rules


• Teams are allowed only 1 trick play per quarter (no carryover from quarter to quarter).


•Must play a multiple 4-3.

•No blitzing


•No kickoffs or kickoff returns will be used.

• Ball will be placed at offense’s 35-yard line to start a possession.

• On punts, there will be no rush and only fair catches by return men.

2005 Blue-Gold Game Rosters in PDF Format
spacer.gifDownload Free Acrobat Reader

Quick Rosters:

Blue Team

Brady Quinn, QB
Rashon Powers-Neal, RB
Darius Walker, RB
John Carlson, TE
Anthony Fasano, TE
Rhema McKnight, WR
Jeff Samardzija, WR
Maurice Stovall, WR
Ryan Harris, OT
Mark LeVoir, OT
Bob Morton, OG
Dan Santucci, OG
Dan Stevenson, OG
John Sullivan, C
Brian Beidatsch, DT
Chris Frome, DE
Trevor Laws, DT
Travis Leitko, DE
Maurice Crum, Jr., LB
Brandon Hoyte, LB
Corey Mays, LB
Anthony Salvador, LB
Leo Ferrine, CB
Chinedum Ndukwe, S
Mike Richardson, CB
Rich Whitney III, DB
Tom Zbikowski, S
D.J. Fitzpatrick, K/P
J.J. Jansen, SNP

Gold Team

Marty Mooney, QB
David Wolke, QB
Travis Thomas, RB
Ashley McConnnell, FB
John Lyons, RB
Marcus Freeman, TE
Tim Gritzman, TE
Chase Anastasio, WR
Michael O’Hara, WR
Chris Vaughn, WR
Rob Woods, WR
Brian Mattes, OT
David Fitzgerald, OT
Scott Raridon, OT
James Bent, OT
Chauncey Incarnato, OT
John Kadous, OT
Joe Boland, LB
Justin Brown, DE
Dan Chervanick, DT
Casey Cullen, LB
Dwight Stephenson, Jr., DE
Brandon Nicolas, DE
Abdel Banda, LB
Joe Brockington, LB
Nate Schiccatano, LB
Mitchell Thomas, LB
Jake Carney, S
Brandon Harris, DB
Wade Iams, DB
Junior Jabbie, CB
Terrail Lambert, CB
Matt Mitchell, CB
Alvin Reynolds, Jr., DB
Freddie Parish IV, S
Anthony Vernaglia, S
Craig Cardillo, K
Geoff Price, P
Bobby Renkes, K