Irish senior captain Cari Roccaro was selected as one of 28 NCAA Division I women's soccer players for inclusion on the MAC Hermann Trophy watch list. The MAC Hermann Trophy is given to the top male and female collegiate soccer players in the country.

Roccaro Among Early Hermann Trophy Contenders

Aug. 5, 2015

MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List Get Acrobat Reader (women)

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The National Soccer Coaches Association of America and the Missouri Athletic Club released its preseason MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists on Wednesday, which included University of Notre Dame senior midfielder/defender Cari Roccaro among the 28 women marked as potential contenders.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in NCAA soccer presented annually to one male and one female athlete. The winners will be announced Friday, January 8, 2016, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Roccaro played and started in 18 games last season for an Irish defense that allowed just 0.82 goals per contest. She netted two goals on the year, including a game-winner against Syracuse (Oct. 18, 2014), while also notching an assist. Roccaro was an All-ACC First Team selection and an NSCAA All-Southeast Region Second Team pick in 2014, as well as a third team NSCAA Scholar All-American. She will look to anchor a backfield that will once again be a strength for the Irish.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches whose programs are current NSCAA College Service members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 players. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website, managed by LockerDome.

From that pool of 15, three finalists will be chosen for the award, with the winners announced in January.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy information page at the NSCAA website. For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, and news and video from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit

About the Missouri Athletic Club
The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s player of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to

About the NSCAA
Founded in 1941 and based in Kansas City, Kansas, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) is a non-profit organization with a mission to educate coaches, encourage excellence and serve the soccer community.

The NSCAA is the world’s largest soccer coaches’ organization with members at every level of the game. The membership is primarily made up of coaches, but also includes administrators, referees and others in the soccer industry. The NSCAA provides its members ways to enhance the game of soccer by providing a national education program, interaction and networking opportunities, and membership benefits.

For more information about the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, visit the NSCAA website at