Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Rob Globke Named To The CCHA All-Academic Team

March 9, 2004

Farmington Hills, Mich. – Senior right wing Rob Globke (West Bloomfield, Mich.) was one of 10 Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) players selected to the league’s all-Academic team for the 2003-04 season. Globke is the 10th Irish player to receive CCHA all-Academic honors and gives Notre Dame a representative on the team in seven of the last eight years.

A five-time Dean’s List selection at Notre Dame, Globke has a 3.339 grade-point average and will graduate in May with a degree in Marketing from the Mendoza College of Business. On the ice, Globke leads the Irish in scoring with 17 goals and 16 assists for 33 points and is tied for eighth among all CCHA scorers. His 17 goals tie him for third in the league and his five game-winning goals lead the conference.

Joining Globke on the 10-man team are three players who made the team last year – Miami’s Mike Kompon, Bowling Green’s D’Arcy McConvey and Ferris State’s Derrick McIver. Named for the first time are Western Michigan’s Paul Davies and Dana Lattery, Miami’s Derek Edwardson, Ohio State’s Nate Guenin, Alaska Fairbanks’ Tom Herman and Nebraska-Omaha’s Andrew Wong.

T.J. Mathieson (Sr., Clarksville, Md.), one of the top student-athletes ever to wear a Notre Dame hockey jersey, was an honorable mention selection. Mathieson has been selected to the Dean’s List in all seven of his semesters at Notre Dame and has a 3.816 grade point in Aerospace Engineering. He is a two-time winner of the Notre Dame Club of St. Joseph Valley Rockne Student-Athlete Award and was a candidate for Rhodes, Mitchell and Marshall post-graduate scholarships this year. He has played in just one game this season for the Irish.

Receiving special mention for the Irish were defenseman Tom Galvin (Sr., Miller Place, N.Y.), defenseman Brett Lebda (Sr., Buffalo Grove, Ill.), defenseman Neil Komadoski (Sr., Chesterfield, Mo.), forward Cory McLean (Jr., Fargo, N.D.) and defenseman Chris Trick (So., Troy, Mich.).

To be eligible for consideration, a player must have completed one academic year and have a 3.00 grade-point average on a 4.00 scale. The top six vote getters, regardless of position, are named to the all-Academic team with others receiving votes earning honorable mention. All players nominated receive special mention. The all-Academic team will be honored at the 2004 CCHA Awards on Wednesday, March 17 at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.

2003-04 CCHA All-Academic TeamPaul Davies        Sr.    Forward       Western Michigan      Pre-MedicineDerek Edwardson    Sr.    Forward       Miami                 Exercise ScienceRob Globke         Sr.    Forward       Notre Dame            MarketingNate Guenin        So.    Defense       Ohio State            UndeclaredTom Herman         Sr.    Forward       Alaska Fairbanks      BusinessMike Kompon        Sr.    Forward       Miami                 Physical EducationDana Lattery       Sr.    Forward       Western Michigan      Pre-MedicineD'Arcy McConvey    Sr.    Forward       Bowling Green         Financial EconomicsDerrick McIver     Sr.    Forward       Ferris State          Computer Information SystemsAndrew Wong        Sr.    Forward       Nebraska-Omaha        Finance

Honorable Mention Paul Austin (UAF), Jordan Hendry (UAF), Jared Sylvestre (UAF), Kevin Bieksa (BGSU), Alex Rogosheske (BGSU), Jordan Sigalet (BGSU), Andrew Ebbett (MICH), Al Montoya (MICH), Colton Fretter (MSU), Steve Swistak (MSU), T.J. Mathieson (ND).

Notre Dame Special Mention: Tom Galvin, Brett Lebda, Neil Komadoski, Cory McLean, Chris Trick