Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Richartz Takes First At Penn Relays Finale

April 29, 2017

By Megan Golden

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. — The University of Notre Dame track and field team was led by senior Nathan Richartz’s first-place finish in the pole vault on the final day of the Penn Relays on Saturday at Franklin Field.

Richartz recorded a 5.30m vault, which is .21m away from equaling his personal record that was set at the Louisville Invitational on April 14.

Sophomore Matthew Birzer placed second in the men’s high jump championship with a 2.16m jump.

In the men’s hammer throw championship, senior Anthony Shivers finished 11th (59.66m).

The men’s 4xMile squad, which consisted of graduate student Eric Gebeke, senior Jacob Dumford, freshman Ryan Schweizer and senior Christopher Marco, came in 12th overall in 16:54.75.

The men’s 4x800m relay combined to run 7:31.76 and finish 17th as a team. Junior Kirk Hansen (1:51.95) started the race for the Irish and handed off the baton to Marco (1:51.96). Marco was followed by freshman Clayton Goldman (1:54.00) and Dumford (1:53.86).

After recording a 13.69 mark in the women’s college 100m hurdles on Friday, freshman Summer Thorpe qualified for the championship race and finished ninth overall on Saturday (13.89).

Coming Up Next

Notre Dame returns to action at the Billy Hayes Invitational at 3 p.m. ET on May 6 at Indiana’s Haugh Track Complex.

For a closer, behind-the-scenes look at the Irish track and field program, follow @NDXCTF on Twitter.


Megan Golden, athletics communications assistant director at the University of Notre Dame, has been part of the Fighting Irish athletics communications team since August of 2016. In her role, she coordinates all media efforts for the Notre Dame women’s lacrosse and cross country/track and field programs. A native of Cleveland, Ohio, Golden is a 2014 graduate of Saint Mary’s College and former Irish women’s basketball manager. Prior to arriving at Notre Dame, she worked in public relations with the Cleveland Indians and Chicago White Sox.