Junior QB Brady Quinn already has won the Sammy Baugh Award (top passer) and is a finalist for the O'Brien, Maxwell and Walter Camp Trophies. He also is a finalist for the Manning Award, to be given after the 2006 bowl season.

Quinn Named A Manning Award Finalist

Dec. 8, 2005

The Sugar Bowl Committee announced today the names of the five finalists for the Manning Award to be presented to the nation’s best college quarterback. Those finalists include: Matt Leinart (USC), Drew Olson (UCLA), Brady Quinn (Notre Dame), D.J. Shockley (Georgia), and Vince Young (Texas).

The Manning Award was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning and will be presented to the recipient following the holiday bowl season. It is the only quarterback award which takes into consideration the candidates bowl performances.

The winner will be determined by a select panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

“Each of these student- athletes also provide today’s aspiring youth with a roadmap for their own success,” said Sugar Bowl Executive Director Paul Hoolahan. “The Sugar Bowl is most grateful to the Manning family for helping pay tribute to these young men.”

“We are proud of the accomplishments all of these outstanding quarterbacks,” said Archie Manning. “We are especially proud of how they each led their respective teams to success and an outstanding season.”

Last year’s inaugural winner was Matt Leinart. Now a senior from Santa Ana, Calif. and last year’s Heisman Trophy winner, Leinart cemented his selection with his 18-of-35 for 332 passing yards and a FedEx Orange Bowl record five touchdowns in the Trojans 55-19 rout of Oklahoma in the BCS National Championship game. He finished his junior season with 3,322 yards and 33 touchdowns.

Quinn’s 2005 numbers include 3,633 yards passing, 32 touchdowns and just seven interceptions.