Notre Dame shoots for lucky #13 this week in Indianapolis.

Quest For 13th Consecutive BIG EAST Championship Begins Wednesday For Women's Swimming And Diving

Feb. 17, 2009

Schedule of Events Get Acrobat Reader | Psych Sheets Get Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – An unprecedented 13th consecutive BIG EAST Conference Championship title is on the line this week for the Notre Dame women’s swimming and diving team, as the squad heads to Indianapolis for the 2009 league meet. The event will be held at the Indiana University Natatorium on the campus of IUPUI from Feb. 18-21. Notre Dame’s current streak of 12 titles is the most by any school in any sport within the BIG EAST.

A pair of Irish competitors – Samantha Maxwell (200 Breast), Katie Casey (200 Fly) – hold top seeds heading into the meet as well as the 800 Free Relay tandem. Maxwell has already broken her own school records in the 100 Breast and 200 Breast earlier this season.

Notre Dame saw eight school records fall to the wayside during last year’s league meet, and all but one swimmer (graduated senior Caroline Johnson) return for a chance to duplicate the feat this season.

Each of this week’s eight sessions can be viewed live and on-demand at Preliminary and final results along with daily recaps will be available at For up-to-the-minute results and scores, sign up for IRISH ALERTS text messaging services at

Three Irish student-athletes – Linda Gallo (1998), Nixon (2000), and Katie Carroll (2004, 2007) – have been the BIG EAST Championships Most Outstanding Swimmer, while Meghan Perry-Eaton was the meet’s Most Outstanding Diver from 2003-05.

In all, Notre Dame has won 96 races at the BIG EAST Championships since 1996. Eleven of those came in 2005 while 14 were earned in 2000. Thirteen active members have claimed all-BIG EAST honors led by Christa Riggins and her total of 17, which ties her for fourth on the school’s all-time list. Riggins also has five BIG EAST titles and Amywren Miller has three to her name.

Notre Dame finished third in the league meet in 1996, its first season as a member of the BIG EAST. The team has proceeded to win each meet every year since.