Senior Niall Platt was named to the all-ACC team on Tuesday

Platt Becomes First Irish Golf All-ACC Honoree

May 13, 2014

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – University of Notre Dame men’s golf senior Niall Platt has been named to the 2014 all-Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) team, the conference office announced on Tuesday. Platt is the first Irish golfer to earn all-ACC honors, and will graduate from Notre Dame as a four-time all-conference player after claiming three all-BIG EAST citations from 2011-13.

Platt, Notre Dame’s career leader with a 73.08 cumulative stroke average, enjoyed a banner senior season as a tri-captain for the Irish, logging 10 top 10 finishes in the 11 tournaments he entered. He shined during the spring campaign, posting a top 10 result in each of his six starts, recording a Notre Dame best stroke average of 71.33 (cumulative three-under-par) over 18 rounds. The Santa Barbara, Calif. native added three finishes in the top five during the spring of 2014.

The highlight of the year for Platt came at Notre Dame’s own Oak Hill Intercollegiate on April 21-22 at the historic Oak Hill Country Club in Rochester, N.Y. On the fabled major championship layout the Irish senior claimed the second individual tournament title of his career, including a second round score of four-under-par 66, to secure medalist honors (71-66-72-209, -1). Platt’s victory came on the heels of a runner-up finish (70-70-69-209, -4) at the Irish Creek Collegiate in Kannapolis, N.C. on April 5-6.

Platt will close his collegiate playing career this week as an individual qualifier taking part in the Sugar Grove Regional of the 2014 NCAA Men’s Golf Championship at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill. The regional tournament will run from Thursday through Saturday, with results available following play at

2014 ACC Men’s Golf Individual Awards

Player of the Year Ollie Schniederjans, Jr., Georgia Tech
Freshman of the Year Jack Maguire, Fr., Florida State
Coach of the Year Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech

2014 Men’s Golf All-ACC Team
Jack Maguire, Fr., Florida State
Hank Lebioda, So., Florida State
Seth Reeves, Sr., Georgia Tech
Ollie Schniederjans, Jr., Georgia Tech
Anders Albertson, Jr., Georgia Tech
Niall Platt, Sr., Notre Dame

Denny McCarthy, Jr., Virginia
Ben Rusch, Sr., Virginia
Trevor Cone, Jr., Virginia Tech
Scott Vincent, Jr., Virginia Tech
Bryce Chalkley, Sr., Virginia Tech
Thomas Birdsey, Sr., Wake Forest