Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Patterson Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

NOTRE DAME, Indiana — Notre Dame offensive lineman Jarrett Patterson has been named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List. The Rimington Trophy annually honors the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I Football. 

Patterson, an academic junior and in his second season starting at center for the Irish, is part of an offensive line that has helped the Irish produce four 100-yard rushing performances, tied for the most among all FBS teams. Per Pro Football Focus, Patterson is the highest-rated center among Power 5 programs, claiming an offensive grade of 87.6, thus far. The Irish boast the third-best rushing offense in the ACC, averaging 245.0 yards per game. 

About the Rimington Trophy

Since its inception, the seventeen-year old award has raised over $4.45 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only two-time winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.

Watch List Honorees:

Davey O’Brien Award: Ian Book

Maxwell Award: Ian Book

Manning Award: Ian Book

Rimington Trophy: Jarrett Patterson

Outland Trophy: Aaron Banks, Liam Eichenberg, Jarrett Patterson

Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award: Brock Wright

Chuck Bednarik Award: Kyle Hamilton, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah

Butkus Award: Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah

LOTT Impact Trophy: Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah

Nagurski Award: Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Drew White

Wuerffel Trophy: Daelin Hayes

Groza Award: Jonathan Doerer

Ray Guy Award: Jay Bramblett