Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Ogunbowale on Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top-10 List

Jan. 30, 2018

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 10 candidates for the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, with Notre Dame junior guard Arike Ogunbowale making the prestigious list. Ogunbowale is one-of-three players from the Atlantic Coast Conference on the final-10 list, marking the most of any conference.

Named after the first player, male or female, appointed to the All-America Team in four straight college seasons and a 1993 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

The Milwaukee native ranks second in the ACC in scoring and 36th in the nation with her 19.9 points per game. In fact, Ogunbowale boasts more 20-plus scoring performances (14) than any other player in the conference and has reached double figures in all but one game this season.

Ogunbowale’s calling card this year has been her clutch fourth quarter performances. The junior has reached double-digit points in the final period on five separate occasions, including a 13-point effort in the 84-70 win over No. 6 Tennessee, finishing with a game high 27 points in the largest comeback in program history (down 23 points).

The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalists to determine the Naismith Starting 5 at

The winner of the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.

For more information on the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, visit

2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates

Darby Maggard


Katie Lou Samuelson


Imani Wright

Florida St.

Asia Durr


Chloe Jackson


Allazia Blockton


Victoria Vivians

Mississippi State

Arike Ogunbowale

Notre Dame

Tyler Scaife


Kitija Laksa

South Florida