Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Novice Rowers Place Third At The Head Of The Eagle

Oct. 21, 2001

Indianapolis, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame’s first novice crew of coxswain Maureen Gibbons, Tricia David, Casey McCormick, Rachel Polinksi, Alice Bartek, Christy Donnelly, Katie Chenoweth, Jen Connolly and bow Shannon Mohan, competing in its first-ever collegiate race, placed third Saturday at the Head of the Eagle in Indianapolis, Ind. Notre Dame’s time of 13:54 trailed only Wisconsin, who won the event in 13:27. Louisville was second in 13:31.

Notre Dame’s second novice eight crew of coxswain Erin Diminick, Katie Lawlor, Gwen Schmiedebusch, Nicole Rapagnani, Megan Connelly, Erica Ruddy, Kristen Wright, Courtney Quinn and Katie Solan placed seventh in 14:41. The Irish third novice crew of coxswain Suzanne Stryker, Cory Roman, Colleen Case, Gale Bowman, Devon Hegeman, Jill Klima, Tori Blainey, Beth Monteleone and Sara Will was eighth in 14:46, followed by Notre Dame’s fourth crew of coxswain Nicole Kennedy-Villafane, Lyndsey Grunewald, Sarah DeLeeuw, Maria Smith, Abbi Daugherty, Meryl Guyer, Cassandra Meyer, Kate Burmon and bow Erin Walker in ninth at 14:56.

The Irish conclude the fall season on Sunday, Oct. 28, when selected crews participate at the Head of the Elk in Elkhart, Ind.