Rachael Louie and the Irish are set to row against Indiana, Purdue and Eastern Michigan on Sunday in a four-team regatta.

Novice Eight Grabs Victory At Head Of The Rock Regatta

Oct. 10, 2010

ROCKFORD, Ill. – The University of Notre Dame women’s rowing team earned a third-place finish on Sunday amongst the women’s collegiate division in the Head of the Rock Regatta at the YMCA of the Rock River Valley. Notre Dame’s novice eight “A” boat earned a race victory on the day.

The Irish placed third in the women’s collegiate division after seeing six boats earn points for the squad, helping to amass a 220-point total.

“Overall I think we learned a lot today,” Irish head coach Martin Stone states. “In the morning session I think we realized we had to row more aggressively with the stroke rate to compete in the afternoon races. I am happy with how we rowed as a whole. Technically we were very good today. There are things that we can improve on, but overall it’s nothing that we can’t work out as the season moves along.”

Women’s pair racing started competition for the Irish, with two boats notching points for the team. The “A” shell of Stephanie Gretsch and Stephanie O’Neill crossed in fifth place in a time of 18:23.99, good for 40 points. Next across for the Irish was the “B” shell of Emily Crosby and Katherine Linnemanstons at 18:27.83. The result earned the tandem 20 points to the team score.

Notre Dame’s “C” shell of Carol Ann Michel and Genevieve Malone (18:51.47) and “D” shell of Katie Suyo and Paige White (18:57.86) crossed next in 14th- and 16th-place, respectively. The Irish “E” shell of Kelsey Haddad and Erin McConnell (19:41.19) and “F” shell of Megan Keegan and Valerie Brencher (19:47.33) rounded out the race finishing in 21st and 22nd.

Both Irish varsity four boats notched points to the team score. The “A” boat of coxswain Jacqueline Gilhooly, Kathryn Monahan, Sarah Thompson, Stephanie Boggs and Joanna Poinsatte crossed the gate in 17:43.69 for a fourth-place finish and 50 points. Notre Dame’s “B” boat wasn’t far behind, as the crew of coxswain Abby Meyers, Ching-Ting Hwang, Brianna Krafcik, Alyce Kanabrocki and Kelsey Murphy ended in ninth place at 18:06.36, earning five points.

The strongest of all showings came in the novice eight race, which saw the Irish top the podium. Notre Dame’s “A” crew of coxswain Christina Dines, Kiran Ikram, Kiersten DeHaven, Nicole Michels, Teresa Rubinger, Anna VanEgmond, Elizabeth Linnemanstons, Olivia Kacsits and Molly Bruggeman ran away with the race, crossing the line at 16:51.16 for a full eight-second victory over the second-place boat of Wisconsin and. The results earned the team 65 points. The Irish “B” boat of coxswain Leah Corachea, Sarah Fagan, Martha Dee, Laura Hartigan, Michelle Ramirez, Kelsey Sekanik, Anne Marie Blieszner, Julia Lynch and Courtney Gaberino ended in 10th at 20:27.16.

In varsity eight action, Notre Dame sent four boats to the water with each being comprised based on the previous races on the day. The “A” boat, which was comprised of the top-four finishing pair boats (Gretsch, O’Neill, Crosby, K. Linnemanstons, C. Michel, Malone, Suyo, White) and coxed by Rachael Louie, crossed in fifth place at 16:23.88 and grabbed 40 points.

The Irish “B” boat featured the remaining two pair boats (Haddad, McConnell, Keegan, Brencher) along with the top finishing varsity four boat (Monahan, Thompson, Boggs, Poinsatte) and coxswain Abby Meyers. The crew finished in ninth place at 16:50.64.

The varsity eight “D” boat, which saw the winning novice eight boat (Ikram, DeHaven, N. Michels, Rubinger, VanEgmond, E. Linnemanstons, Kacsits, Bruggeman) join with coxswain Dani Schneider, crossed next for the Irish in 11th place in a time of 17:04.87.

Notre Dame’s second place varsity four boat (Hwang, Krafcik, Kanabrocki, Murphy) joined with Teresa Blumenstein, Paige Aiello, Megan Salomon, Sylvianne Velasquez and coxswain Kerry Casey to form the varsity eight “C” boat. The team crossed in 13th place at 17:17.78.

The Irish will return to competition on Saturday-Sunday, Oct. 29-30 when they play host to the University of Tulsa at the St. Joseph’s River in South Bend, Ind.