Former Notre Dame All-America center Ruth Riley ('01) will go in search of her third WNBA championship when the San Antonio Silver Stars play host to the Detroit Shock in Game 1 of the WNBA Finals Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2. <i>(photo by WNBAE/Getty Images)</i>

Notre Dame Women's Basketball In The WNBA

July 11, 2006

Notre Dame alums have carved their own place in WNBA history, winning a total of four league championships as players (with three more by 1979 Notre Dame graduate Bill Laimbeer as head coach of the Detroit Shock) since the WNBA was founded in 1997. Wondering how former Irish standouts such as Ruth Riley are doing with their WNBA teams? Look no further, as has put together this simple reference page which will allow Irish fans to keep up with their favorite players in the WNBA.

Notre Dame Players Currently Active In WNBA

Ruth Riley (2001-present)
Two-time WNBA Champion (2003, 2006)
Three-time WNBA conference champion (East – 2003, 2006; West – 2008)
2003 WNBA Finals MVP
2005 WNBA All-Star
First Vice President, WNBA Players Association
Miami Sol (2001-02 – 1st round draft pick/5th overall)
Detroit Shock (2003-06 – 1st overall pick in 2003 Dispersal Draft)
San Antonio Silver Stars (2007-present)

Riley’s official WNBA biography page with statistics
Official San Antonio Silver Stars web site
Official WNBA web site
Riley’s blog
Riley’s official web site
Nothing But Nets (Riley is spokesperson and advocate for organization fighting malaria in Africa)

Notre Dame Players Currently Inactive/Retired From WNBA

Charel Allen
Sacramento Monarchs (2008 – 3rd round draft pick)

Jacqueline Batteast
2006 WNBA Champion
Minnesota Lynx (2005 – 2nd round draft pick)
Detroit Shock (2006)


Jacqueline Batteast became the third Irish alum to earn a WNBA championship ring, doing so with the Detroit Shock in 2006.



Megan Duffy
Minnesota Lynx (2006-07 – 3rd round draft pick)
Los Angeles Sparks (2007)
New York Liberty (2008)

Katryna Gaither
Utah Starzz (2000)
Indiana Fever (2000)
Cleveland Rockers (2002)
Los Angeles Sparks (2002)
Washington Mystics (2002)
Minnesota Lynx (2007)

Ericka Haney
Detroit Shock (2002 – 3rd round draft pick)

Niele Ivey
Indiana Fever (2001-04)
Detroit Shock (2005)
Phoenix Mercury (2005)

Beth Morgan (Cunningham)
Washington Mystics (2000)

Kelley Siemon
Los Angeles Sparks (2002 – 3rd round draft pick)

Coquese Washington
2000 WNBA Champion
Past President, WNBA Players Association
New York Liberty (1998-99)
Houston Comets (2000-02)
Indiana Fever (2002-03)