BYU's Jimmer Fredette, left, and Notre Dame's Mike Brey pose for a photo at a news conference in Houston. (AP Photo/Eric Gay)

Notre Dame's Brey Selected AP Coach of the Year

April 1, 2011

camera.gifCoach Brey Coach of the Year Awards Feature

HOUSTON (AP) – Mike Brey is The Associated Press’ coach of the year after guiding Notre Dame to second place in the Big East and a No. 5 ranking in the final poll.

The Fighting Irish had a 27-7 record, their second-most wins in a season. Their 14-4 mark in the Big East tied their record for conference victories. Notre Dame was a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament.

Brey received the award Friday. He drew 28 votes from the 65-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Steve Fisher of San Diego State was second with 14 votes. Voting was done before the NCAA tournament.

Brey is the first Notre Dame coach to win the award. He is the second straight Big East coach to get it following Syracuse’s Jim Boeheim last year.

AP Coach of the Year Voting

Mike Brey, Notre Dame 28

Steve Fisher, San Diego State 14

Steve Lavin, St. John’s 6

Jamie Dixon, Pittsburgh 4

Thad Matta, Ohio State 4

Matt Painter, Purdue 3

Rick Pitino, Louisville 2

Billy Donovan, Florida 1

Jim Engles, New Jersey Tech 1

Sean Miller, Arizona 1

Bill Self, Kansas 1