Sept. 17, 1999

? Women’s Complete Results
? Men’s Complete Results

NOTRE DAME, Ind.– The Notre Dame men’s and women’s cross country teams swept both the individual races and the team titles Friday afternoon at the National Catholic cross country championships at the Notre Dame Golf Course.

The Notre Dame women won their third consecutive team championship and were led by senior JoAnna Deeter (Glen Ellyn, Ill.), who earned her fourth straight individual National Catholic title with a winning 5K time of 16:52. Deeter is the only runner in the 15-year history of the women’s race to even repeat as the National Catholic champion.

Deeter was joined in the top 10 by teammates senior Alison Klemmer (second – 17:42), freshman Jennifer Handley (third – 18:01) and senior Erin Luby (eighth – 18:19). Other finishers for the Notre Dame women included Erin Olson, who placed 16th with a time of 18:58, and Melissa Schmidt, who finished 18th in 19:00. The Irish overall, finished with 100 points less than their nearest competitor (30-130), St. Thomas, which also won the college division race.

The Notre Dame men, meanwhile, captured their fourth straight team championship and were led by junior Ryan Shay (Central Lake, Mich.), who won his third straight individual title with an 8K time of 24:41. With the win, Shay joined Marquette’s Keith Hanson as one of only two runners to ever win the National Catholic individual crown three times in the 20-year history of the men’s race.

Shay was joined in the top 10 by four of Notre Dame’s other six runners. Sophomore Luke Watson (Stillwater, Minn.) placed just behind Shay with a second-place time of 25:04. Seniors Ryan Maxwell (third – 25:14) and John Dudley (sixth – 25:26) and freshman Antonio Lopez (eighth – 25:35) rounded out the top 10 for the Irish. Notre Dame also got top 20 finishes from its other two runners in the race, Sean Zanderson (14th – 25:56) and Nathan Shay (19th – 26:23).

The Notre Dame men overall finished with a meet low score of 17, which was 71 points better than second place team Lewis (88), which also won the college division race.

The Notre Dame men’s and women’s cross country teams will be back in action when they play host to the 44th running of the Notre Dame Invitational, Friday, Oct. 1.

National Catholic Championships

Individual Results – Top 10

Men                                    Women1. Ryan Shay, Notre Dame (24:41)       1. JoAnna Deeter, Notre Dame (16:52)2. Luke Watson, Notre Dame (25:04)     2. Alison Klemmer, Notre Dame (17:42)3. Ryan Maxwell, Notre Dame (25:14)    3. Jennifer Handley, Notre Dame (18:01)4. Colin Jones, Lewis (25:17)          4. Mariana Vidovic, Lewis (18:12)5. Chris Mcphee, Detroit Mercy (25:24) 5. Agnes Stalmach, Lewis (18:13)6. John Dudley, Notre Dame (25:26)     6. Tara Storage, Dayton (18:17)7. Matt Miller, Siena Heights (25:30)  7. Liza Grudzinski, Marist (18:18)8. Antonio Lopez, Notre Dame (25:35)   8. Erin Luby, Notre Dame (18:19)9. Arturo Cabral, Lewis (25:40)        9. Michelle Ruggero, Siena Hts. (18:20)10. Ryan Bills, Siena Heights (25:48) 10. Angie Lefere, Detroit Mercy (18:21)

Team Results – Top 5 Overall (Low Score Wins)

1. Notre Dame    17             1. Notre Dame     302. Lewis         66             2. St. Thomas    1303. Marist        135            3. Marist        1344. Duquesne      135            4. Detroit Mercy 1675. Siena Heights 143            5. DePaul        176