Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Notre Dame Invitational Wraps Up Second Day Of Competition

Dec. 6, 2002

Complete Results

The Notre Dame men’s swimming and diving team continues to lead the way at the 2002 Notre Dame Invitational, highlighted by Jason Fitzpatrick’s school-record effort in the 100 breaststroke. The Irish lead the way in the men’s standings with 1,219 points, followed by Wyoming (801), West Virginia (764), Denison (728.5), North Dakota (613.5), Wiscosin-Green Bay (508), Indianapolis (451), Louisville (340), Saint Louis (266), Shippensburg (136), Hillsdale (40) and Wisconsin-Milwaukee (22).

The women’s standings are West Virginia (901.5), Iowa (822), Denison (778.5), Bowling Green (682), Wyoming (555.5), Wisconsin-Green Bay (516), North Dakota (441), Indianapolis (435), Louisville (378), Northern Michigan (293), Saint Louis (262.5), Wisconsin-Milwaukee (181), Shippensburg (112), Notre Dame women (divers only) (71) and Hillsdale (48).

Denison entered the second day in second place behind West Virginia in the women’s standings and began the evening in fine form, taking home first place in the 200 medley relay with the team of Leah Favret, Deb Janssen, Jill Boo and Chrissy Havach. Their 1:28.07 time qualifies the team for the NCAA Division II Championship.

The Notre Dame men began day two with a strong lead in the standings and increased its advantage in the first event. The 200 medley team seized control of the race in Jason Fitzpatrick’s breaststroke leg and capped off its victory in 1:32.40 with a furious final 50 yards from freshman Tim Randolph.

The women’s 200 IM title was claimed by North Dakota’s Janice Berry in 4:29.27 and provided the senior a trip to the Division II final meet. Lauren Clark from Denison (4:21.83) and Kristen Lund from Indianapolis (4:31.95) also qualified for the D II meet. After winning the 200 IM on Thursday, Indianapolis’ Orel Oral came back on Friday to dominate the 400 IM, coasting to victory in 4:00.78. His closest competitor was Notre Dame’s David Moisan, who touched second in 4:02.32.

The Greyhounds from Indianapolis, sixth in the women’s standings and fifth in the men, continued to surge with a victory in the women’s 100 fly. This time it was junior Megan Grunert in 57.10 taking first, ahead of Notre Dakota’s Sara Richmire and Bowling Green’s Dana Schultz. The 100 fly win is the second individual victory for Grunert in the meet, as she also won the 200 IM on Thursday.

For the men’s 100 fly, Fernando Alves brought home the first individual event victory of the night for North Dakota, finishing ahead of WVU’s Pedro Pinto and Frank Krakowski (49.91) from Notre Dame. Junior Brian Coughlan won the bonus final for the Irish in the 100 fly (52.37).

The 200 freestyle took over the pool next and West Virginia grabbed another victory, led by Devlyn Quinn in 1:53.70.

In the 200 yard freestyle, Notre Dame won both the bonus and consolation finals (Bryan Guarnier and J.R. Teddy, respectively) but West Virginia’s Kleyton Franca just out-touched Notre Dame’s Matt Obringer in the championship final. France finished in 1:40.13, while Obringer ended up at 1:40.35.

Next up was the breaststroke and Indianapolis’ Megan Grunert took home another individual victory in 1:04.09 — a Division II qualification time. WVU’s Megan Carlson finished second (1:06.42) and Bowling Green’s Sarah Agnew ended up third (1:06.90). Irish senior breaststroker Jason Fitzpatrick ripped off a great effort in the 100 breast, setting a new school record and posting an NCAA B qualification time in 55.71. Scott Usher was right behind Fitzpatrick with his own B qualification time (55.76). Notre Dame’s Tim Randolph was third in 57.46.

Next up was the 100 backstroke and Iowa’s Caitlin Girdley took her place in the winner’s circle with a 58.49 effort. Devlyn Quinn was right there with her, touching second in 58.84 for West Virginia.

For the men’s 100 back, freshman Doug Bauman made it two wins in a row for Notre Dame with a solid 51.40 victory. Kyle Brockett from Denison finished second (52.10) and Jacob Mills from North Dakota ended up third (52.12). Irish freshman Steve Shomberger, continuing his come back from a preseason arm injury, was eighth in the championship final (53.13).

In the lone diving event of the evening, Iowa graded 60 points by taking first and second place off the women’s three-meter board. Nancilea Underwood was first with 535.60 points, which easily qualifies for the NCAA zone diving meet. Second place Lisette Planken also qualified for the NCAA meet with a 479.40 score. Louisville’s Jerilyn Drummond also qualified with a 454.50 score and finished third.

The final event for both the men and women on Friday evening was the 800 freestyle relay. The University of Iowa carried over its momentum from diving by taking first in 7:40.53 (team of Katelyn Eustis, Abby VanMaaren, Andrea Hemphill and Caitlin Girdley). Denison ended up second in 7:40.74.

To cap the night’s festivities, North Dakota swam away with the men’s 800 free relay, as the team of Sebastian Andersson, Frenando Alves, Sam Taylor and Rodrigo Cintra finished in 6:48.49.

The final day begins at 10 a.m. on Saturday with the preliminaries.