Junior Nevada Sorenson won the 60m hurdles on Sunday.

Notre Dame Heads To Bloomington For Indiana Relays

Jan. 25, 2012

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame men’s and women’s track and field teams head to Bloomington, Ind., this weekend for the Indiana Relays.

Friday action gets underway at 3 p.m. with the men’s weight throw and the women’s 60m hurdles. Saturday begins at 10:20 a.m. with the women’s 200m.

Notre Dame is coming off a strong meet at last Saturday’s Notre Dame Invitational, where the teams won six events and hit 60 BIG EAST qualifying standards. Highlighting the meet was freshman Chris Giesting breaking a 29-year old Notre Dame record in the 500m run (1:01.89). He also broke the Meyo Track record in the event.

This weekend’s meet marks the first competition for a trio of Notre Dame football players that joined the men’s team this week. George Atkinson III, Josh Atkinson and Bennett Jackson are all slated to compete in the 60m dash in their first meet with the team.

The meet is the final tune-up for the yearly Meyo Invitational, which takes place next weekend at the Loftus Sports Center, and is highlighted by the Meyo Mile.

Heat Sheets


Chris Giesting – 400m (10th)
Patrick Feeney – 400m (13th)
Jeff MacMillan – 5,000m (10th)
Jordan Carlson – 5,000m (12th)
J.P. Malette – 5,000m (13th)
Martin Grady – 5,000m (16th)
Jake Kildoo – 5,000m (20th)
Kelly Lynch – 5,000m (24th)
Joe Miller – 5,000m (25th)
Dougherty, Lorenz, Feeney, Giesting – 4x400m Relay (25th)

Alexa Aragon – Mile (21st)
Maddie Buttinger – Pentathlon (3rd)


Aijah Urssery (60m, 200m)
Michelle Brown (200m, 400m)
Kaila Barber (200m, 400m, 60mH, LJ)
Natalie Geiger (400m)
Emily Frydrych (1,000m, Mile)
Allison Schroeder (800m, 1,000m)
Angela Ryck (1,000m)
Katherine Stultz (Mile)
McKinzie Schulz (800m, 1,000m, 3,000m)
Alexa Aragon (Mile)
Kelly Curran (800m, 1,000m)
Molly Hirt (Mile)
Meg Ryan (Mile)
Rachel Velarde (3,000m)
Jessica Rydberg (3,000m)
Nevada Sorenson (60mH)
Jade Barber (60mH)
Maddie Buttinger (60mH, 500m, HJ, LJ, Pentathlon)
Fiona Paladino (HJ, Pentathlon)
Carly Loeffel (HJ, Pentathlon)
Meghan Moore (Pentathlon)
Kelly Burke (PV, TJ)
Kathryn Barousse (PV)
Ann Polcari (PV)
Kayla Polcari (PV)
Mary Esther Gourdin (TJ)
Jessie Christian (TJ)
Emily Morris (SP, WT)
Madeline Casanova (SP, WT)
Mason Bashaw (WT)
Emily Kujawski (WT)

Jarrod Buchanon (200m, 400m, 60mH)
Bryce Wood (60mH)
Keith Mesidor (200m, LJ)
Chris Giesting (400m, 500m)
Patrick Feeney (60m, 200m, 400m)
Brendan Dougherty (400m)
Zac Suriano (800m)
Mitchell Lorenz (800m)
Max Cruz (800m)
Steve Blazer (800m)
DJ Thornton (1,000m)
Kevin Byrne (1,000m)
Randall Babb (1,000m)
Eddy Gibbons (800m, 1,000m)
Jack Favorite (1,000m)
Jeremy Rae (1,000m)
Johnathan Shawel (1,000m)
Thomas Pesch (Mile)
Jeff MacMillan (Mile, 5,000m)
Jordan Carlson (1,000m, 5,000m)
J.P. Malette (3,000m, 5,000m)
Martin Grady (5,000m)
Jake Kildoo (Mile, 5,000m)
Kelly Lynch (Mile, 5,000m)
Joe Miller (Mile, 5,000m)
Doug Onuscheck (HJ)
Peter Sullivan (HJ, Heptathlon)
Ted Glasnow (HJ, Heptathlon)
Dean Odegard (Heptathlon)
Kevin Schipper (PV)
David Schipper (PV)
Patrick Krach (PV)
Logan Renwick (LJ, TJ)
Patrick Glass (LJ)
Andrew Hills (SP, WT)
Andrew Brock (SP)
Anthony Thomas (WT)
Jordan Stumph (WT)
Mike Smigelski (WT)


Chris Giesting – 400m
Kevin Schipper – Pole Vault

Maddie Buttinger – Pentathlon