Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Notre Dame-Boston College Will Kick at Noon EDT

May 31, 2017

The first University of Notre Dame road football game in 2017—slated for Sept. 16 at Boston College—will kick off at noon EDT.

ESPN and the Atlantic Coast Conference made the announcement today as they combined to make kickoff times official for the first three weekends of the regular season.

The Irish play 11 football games in 2017 against teams that participated in bowl games following the 2016 campaign, and four of those postseason winners—USC, Georgia, Wake Forest and North Carolina State—will appear in Notre Dame Stadium.

In all, Brian Kelly’s eighth Notre Dame team will face seven 2017 opponents that claimed postseason victories a year ago. Road games at Boston College, Miami (Fla.) and Stanford are among those seven:

2017 Notre Dame Football Schedule

Date Opponent Time Television
Sept. 2 TEMPLE 3:30 p.m. EDT NBC
Sept. 9 GEORGIA 7:30 p.m. EDT NBC
Sept. 16 at Boston College Noon EDT ESPN
Sept. 23 at Michigan State TBD TBD
Sept. 30 MIAMI (OHIO) 5 p.m. EDT NBCSN
Oct. 7 at North Carolina TBD TBD
Oct. 14 Bye Week
Oct. 21 USC 7:30 p.m. EDT NBC
Nov. 4 WAKE FOREST 3:30 p.m. EDT NBC
Nov. 11 at Miami (Fla.) TBD TBD
Nov. 18 NAVY 3:30 p.m. EST NBC
Nov. 25 at Stanford TBD TBD

The 2017 schedule will feature seven home games for the first time since 2010, as the Irish take a one-year break from their Shamrock Series contests. Notre Dame’s 12 opponents combined for a 94-63 mark (.598) in 2016, while the seven teams coming to Notre Dame Stadium combined for a 57-36 record (.612).

Eleven of the 2017 Notre Dame opponents played in postseason bowl games following the 2016 season – including Temple (10-4, lost Military Bowl to Wake Forest), Georgia (8-5, won Liberty Bowl over TCU), Boston College (7-6, won Quick Lane Bowl over Maryland), Miami of Ohio (6-7, lost St. Petersburg Bowl to Mississippi State), North Carolina (8-5, lost Sun Bowl to Stanford), USC (10-3, won Rose Bowl over Penn State), North Carolina State (7-6, won Independence Bowl over Vanderbilt), Wake Forest (7-6, won Military Bowl over Temple), Miami of Florida (9-4, won Russell Athletic Bowl over West Virginia), Navy (9-5, lost Armed Forces Bowl to Louisiana Tech) and Stanford (10-3, won Sun Bowl over North Carolina). Three of Notre Dame’s 2017 opponents finished in the final AP poll for 2016–#3 USC, #12 Stanford and #20 Miami (Fla.). Three teams on the ’17 Irish schedule won 10 games a year ago (Temple, USC and Stanford) and two others won nine (Miami of Florida and Navy).

Temple made its only other appearance at Notre Dame Stadium in 2013. USC has played 40 previous games (more than any other Irish opponent) at Notre Dame Stadium. Wake Forest will be coming to South Bend for the third time (also in 2013 and 2015). Navy will be playing the Irish at Notre Dame Stadium for the 35th time. Georgia, Miami (Ohio) and North Carolina State all will be playing at Notre Dame Stadium in 2017 for the first time, though Miami did face Notre Dame in South Bend in 1909.

Please note that South Bend observes Eastern time (including DST) year-round. In 2017, daylight time ends and standard time begins on Sunday, Nov. 5.