Feb. 23, 2016

All three of the University of Notre Dame’s returning first-team All-Americans in men’s lacrosse-attack Matt Kavanagh, defenseman Matt Landis and midfielder Sergio Perkovic-have been named to the 2016 Tewaaraton Award men’s watch list. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2016 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour.

Among the 2016 watch list returnees are two former men’s finalists-Kavanagh and Myles Jones from Duke.

The Tewaaraton Award presented by Under Armour annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Kavanagh (Rockville Centre, New York) led the Irish in scoring a year ago with 52 points (27 goals, 25 assists) and currently stands tied for fourth on Notre Dame’s career scoring chart.

Landis (Pelham, New York) was the defensive player of the year in 2015 as selected by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association.

Perkovic (Bloomfield Hills, Michigan) led the Irish in goals in 2015 with 34, including five in the NCAA national semifinal against Denver.

Kavanagh and Landis both are senior captains of the 2016 Irish squad. Perkovic is a junior.

Here are the 50 men’s watch list candidates, with school, year and position noted (Denver and Virginia led the way with five selections each; Notre Dame and Syracuse both had three):

Ryan Ambler, Princeton – Sr., Attack
Nick Aponte, Penn State – Jr., Attack
Trevor Baptiste, Denver — Soph., Faceoff
Matt Barrett, Virginia – Jr., Goalie
Craig Berge, Georgetown – Soph., Midfield
Kyle Bernlohr, Maryland – Sr., Goalie
Scott Bieda, Rutgers – Sr., Attack
Ryan Brown, Johns Hopkins – Sr., Attack
Christian Burgdorf, Denver – Jr., Defense
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver – Jr., Attack
Deemer Class, Duke – Sr., Midfield
Greg Coholan, Virginia – Sr., Midfield
Peter Conley, Georgetown – Jr., Midfield
Zach Currier, Princeton – Jr., Midfield
Nick Doktor, Penn – Sr., Attack
Dylan Donahue, Syracuse – Sr., Attack
Devin Dwyer, Harvard – Sr., Attack
Brody Eastwood, Stony Brook – Sr., Attack
Conor Gately, Marquette – Sr., Attack
Luke Goldstock, North Carolina – Jr., Attack
Robby Haus, Ohio State – Sr., Defense
Zach Herreweyers, Loyola – Sr., Attack
Stephen Jahelka, Harvard – Sr., Defense
Myles Jones, Duke – Sr., Midfield
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Sr., Attack
Larken Kemp, Brown – Jr., LSM
Matt Landis, Notre Dame – Sr., Defense
Nate Lewnes, UMBC – Sr., Attack
Sam Llinares, Hofstra – Sr., Attack
Dan Lomas, High Point – Sr., Attack
Zach Miller, Denver – Jr., Midfield
Dylan Molloy, Brown – Jr., Attack
Brendan Mullins, Syracuse – Sr., Defense
Tyler Pace, Denver – Jr., Midfield
James Pannell, Virginia – Sr., Attack
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame – Jr., Midfield
Austin Pifani, North Carolina – Jr., Defense
Michael Quinn, Yale – Sr., Defense
Joseph Radin, Marist – Sr., Attack
Michael Rastivo, St. Joseph’s – Jr., Attack
Kevin Reisman, Limestone – Jr., Midfield
Challen Rogers, Stony Brook – Sr., Midfield
TJ Sanders, Penn State – Sr., Attack
Tanner Scales, Virginia – Jr., Defense
Brian Sherlock, Loyola – Jr., Midfield
John Uppgren, Tufts – Sr., Attack
Gunnar Waldt, Bryant – Sr., Goalie
Tyler White, Towson – Sr., Goalie
Ben Williams, Syracuse – Jr., Faceoff
Zed Williams, Virginia – Jr., Midfield

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 17 and April 7. On April 28, the field will be narrowed to 25 nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch list or players not on the watch list, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. Five men’s finalists will be announced May 12 and invited to the ceremony. The 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held June 2 in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this event, visit tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at facebook.com/tewaaraton, twitter.com/tewaaraton and instagram.com/tewaaraton.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation Founded at the University Club of Washington D.C. and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy — the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora — and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.

About Under Armour, Inc. Under Armour (NYSE: UA), the originator of performance footwear, apparel and equipment, revolutionized how athletes across the world dress. Designed to make all athletes better, the brand’s innovative products are sold worldwide to athletes at all levels. The Under Armour Connected FitnessTM platform powers the world’s largest digital health and fitness community through a suite of applications: UA Record, MapMyFitness, Endomondo and MyFitnessPal. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Md. For further information, please visit the company’s website at www.uabiz.com.